Advanced Search

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 38

Thread: Downloading Fedora Core 6

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Walkerton Canada
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Downloading Fedora Core 6

    I was in the process of getting Fedora Core 6 until I got here http://redhat.download.fedoraproject.../linux/core/6/ where do I go next? Also do I need to back up my data if I am putting Fedora on a 2nd hard drive?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Acton Ontario Canada.
    Posts
    677
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    go into here: (i386 then iso from your location...)
    http://redhat.download.fedoraproject...re/6/i386/iso/
    As for backing up your data, back up all the data on the 2nd drive.
    - Ryan "Boxxertrumps" Trumpa
    Come back once it validates: HTML, CSS, JS.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Walkerton Canada
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks that helps a lot all the files were sort of confusing.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Acton Ontario Canada.
    Posts
    677
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    you should also make sure your hardware has drivers for it, as som companies dont beleive in releaseing instructions on how to make drivers for their software to the general public.
    you'll have trouble with ati stuff, i have to get new vid card because ati wont release driver info to linux...
    - Ryan "Boxxertrumps" Trumpa
    Come back once it validates: HTML, CSS, JS.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,878
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Not trouble exactly... there are ATI drivers (see fglrx), but they're widely heralded as being a bit pants. nVIDIA, the other leading graphics card provider, also doesn't provide information to Linux driver developers, releasing their drivers as a proprietary binary, but the drivers are of better quality, so people don't complain as much.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Walkerton Canada
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I have got another question, now I am past the download and i have the files on hard drive and on CD's. I am now on the Disc one download I started by going to the file that said Fedora because it has the largest file size and then I went to RPMS. Now I am faced with a large amount of files how do I install or open them? Sorry for all the questions.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,878
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    You don't install or open them, you boot the disk.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Walkerton Canada
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    How do you do this?

    Edit: you can disregard this question I found a help page
    Last edited by Persian342; 05-02-2007 at 08:57 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Walkerton Canada
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Here is yet another question I have, I have just installed Fedora and I have rebooted but it comes up saying boot failure what do I do? I have installed it twice, though I took it off before I did it the second time.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,878
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    When does it say "boot failure?" What else does it say?
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •