Thread: for loop help

Thanks

Question for loop help

Man. I'm all over this site today

So I have a menu with 6 entries. Each of these entries has a sub menu. I have written a for loop to handle all the onclicks so I didn't have to write them all out myself. I am now trying to get the cooresponding sub menu div to show up when a btn is rolled over.

Here is the part of my code that I need help with:
    Code:
    for(var i=1; i<=6; i++) {
    	var btn = document.getElementById('TT'+i); //my li id
    	var subMenu = document.getElementById('AA'+i); //my sub menus
    	btn.onmouseover = function() {
    		dropdownmenu(this, event, 'AA1'); //'AA1' refers to the sub menu div on the html side. I need to replace this with something else... That's where you come in :) Right now every "btn" opens up div AA1.
    	}
    }
    I should also mention that I'm a front-end designer. And I have a large background in Flash so my JavaScript is written very similar to AS.

This should be an easy one for you experienced coders. I'm not suppost to code and I have been all day. It's frying my little brain...

Thanks

Code:
    btn.onmouseover = function() {
    		dropdownmenu(this, event, 'AAi');
    I believe the 1 should be an i to stay consistent with the rest of your code. not tested but at first glance that's what I noticed

Thanks
    Blog Entries

Code:
    for(var i = 1, btn; btn = document.getElementById("TT" + i); ++i)
      btn.onmouseover = (function(i) {
        return function(e) {
          dropdownmenu(this, e || event, 'AA' + i);
        };
      })(i);
    btn = null;
    Your coding practices are mostly good, but you need to watch out for browser differences. Only IE uses event, and it will leak if you leave btn trapped in the closure.
    Last edited by Twey; 04-27-2007 at 08:39 PM.