Advanced Search

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Advanced RSS Ticker

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unhappy Advanced RSS Ticker

    1) Script Title: Advanced RSS Ticker (Ajax invocation)

    2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...ajax/index.htm

    3) Describe problem: I have made all of the changes to the script but I always get the error that:

    Error fetching remote RSS feed!
    Sorry: It's not possible to reach RSS file
    http://rss.cnn.com/rss/cnn_topstories.rss

    I have confirmed that my host supports Ajax what am I forgetting.

    http://www.streadbeck.com/ticker/demo.htm

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9,864
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 960 Times in 949 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default

    Everything looks in order. Do you know if your host has remote file fetching using PHP's fopen() disabled? This script requires this ability be turned on in order to work (do a search on the forums for other people having the same issue).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,581
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Default

    Also, PHP has to be installed initially, or none of it will work.
    - Mike

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Unhappy

    Quote Originally Posted by ddadmin View Post
    Everything looks in order. Do you know if your host has remote file fetching using PHP's fopen() disabled? This script requires this ability be turned on in order to work (do a search on the forums for other people having the same issue).
    My host has disabled fopen() they recommend cURL function, but I am not sure how to modify the script, any help would be much appreciated.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9,864
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 960 Times in 949 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default

    There are plans to update this script to use a different RSS parser for the backend that supports cURL to remote file fetching. Right now it uses LastRSS, which is quite limiting. I can't say right now when that will happen though, probably in the next few weeks.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    NW Vermont, (New England)
    Posts
    24
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Russell --
    I don't know if you've got it fixed yet, but I got the same error, but my mind went to paths. Mine is running on UNIX and what I did that fixed it was in bridge.php -- where it wants to include "lastRSS" and where it points to the cache, I modified it to be

    include "./lastrss.php";
    $rss->cache_dir = './cache';

    My Apache wants the ./ even though everything is in the same dir.

    I lowercased the lastRSS there because i have things set up so everything gets lower-cased. (You might not have that set in your FTP program, but check it out just in case.)

    Dunno - thought this might help.
    Cheers,
    Clair
    Last edited by clair; 05-13-2007 at 02:22 PM. Reason: forgot semicolon in snippet

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I am having the same problem and the same error


    i tried the fix but it doesn't work

    thanks anyway

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •