Advanced Search

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 29 of 29

Thread: New hard drive- now I can breath again!

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,156
    Thanks
    262
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    Theye exist, surely, but I doubt anyone on the boards here has need for such a huge harddrive.
    At that point, an external RAID, etc. makes the most sense.
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| espa˝ol | Deutsch | italiano | portuguŕs | catalÓ | un peu de franšais | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Bournemouth, England
    Posts
    99
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Theye exist, surely, but I doubt anyone on the boards here has need for such a huge harddrive.
    I agree, but some of the latest games are over 10gb minimal install, and just a few years ago they were 1/2gb. So if your a serious gamer, you may need a huge hard drive

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,878
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    In which case, as djr33 said, you'd use RAID, which is faster, cheaper and more flexible.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,156
    Thanks
    262
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    Maybe for games, but it seems people would just buy the PS3 and do that, for new stuff, rather than gaming on a PC.
    That's a lot of space for a single game.
    Then again... sure, get more space.

    the only reason that seems logical to me (and is in fact why I have space) is video editing. Pictures, audio, and other data adds up to video, and takes a huge amount of space. But either of those (or other bits) can't ever take up a comperable space to video, so it's either that or nothing. Or, it seems, gaming.

    Certainly for web design, a 100gb hard drive would be absoultely enough.
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| espa˝ol | Deutsch | italiano | portuguŕs | catalÓ | un peu de franšais | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

  5. #25
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia - Near the coast.
    Posts
    1,995
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Twey View Post
    In which case, as djr33 said, you'd use RAID, which is faster, cheaper and more flexible.
    RAID is faster? I thought it's just a mirror of a hard disk.
    Peter - alotofstuffhere[dot]com - Email Me - Donate via PayPal - Got spare hardware? Donate 'em to me :) Just send me a PM.
    Currently: enjoying the early holidays :)
    Read before posting: FAQ | What you CAN'T do with JavaScript | Form Rules | Thread Title Naming Guide

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,156
    Thanks
    262
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    From what I know, it does multiple threading, so you have mirrors of data in the array and it can access each, giving you like 3x the access time, drawing from all 3 drives/ports... etc.
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| espa˝ol | Deutsch | italiano | portuguŕs | catalÓ | un peu de franšais | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

  7. #27
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia - Near the coast.
    Posts
    1,995
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    Thanks. Man, I should get another hard disk then.
    Hmm... This looks nice.
    Peter - alotofstuffhere[dot]com - Email Me - Donate via PayPal - Got spare hardware? Donate 'em to me :) Just send me a PM.
    Currently: enjoying the early holidays :)
    Read before posting: FAQ | What you CAN'T do with JavaScript | Form Rules | Thread Title Naming Guide

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,156
    Thanks
    262
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    RAID is a special system... complex. I really don't know any more about it than what I said/guessed above, but I do know that just a second drive wouldn't allow you to do that, unless it was raid enabled. I believe that the 1TB is RAID enabled, though.
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| espa˝ol | Deutsch | italiano | portuguŕs | catalÓ | un peu de franšais | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    미네소타, 미국
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    im not gonna start a new thread for this question but:
    is there a named word after zotzabyte i just learned that word today because i got curios if there was anything after yottabyte??
    The only person I think is cool is -==INSERT YOUR NAME HERE==-

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •