Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Review CirtexHosting

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Review CirtexHosting

    Hi

    Just wanted to see some feedbacks from the gurus here
    Any input we get will be considered and also put on our list for our new upcoming design.

    Known issues
    - [?] mouseover doesn't function in opera
    - Loading time can be improved if remove more images
    - SEO needs to be optimized more.

    All feedbacks are welcome.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia - Near the coast.
    Posts
    1,995
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    WOW!!! That's cheap!

    How much is it $AU?
    Peter - alotofstuffhere[dot]com - Email Me - Donate via PayPal - Got spare hardware? Donate 'em to me :) Just send me a PM.
    Currently: enjoying the early holidays :)
    Read before posting: FAQ | What you CAN'T do with JavaScript | Form Rules | Thread Title Naming Guide

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tech_support View Post
    WOW!!! That's cheap!

    How much is it $AU?
    Hi

    This is more of a review request thread, so any input regarding our design/site usability is appreciated
    For currency conversion, use http://www.xe.com/ucc/

    Cheers

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia - Near the coast.
    Posts
    1,995
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    Ok. If you wish:

    - You need a DOCTYPE with your page.

    We'll see what everyone else thinks.

    I'm going to see how much it is now...
    Peter - alotofstuffhere[dot]com - Email Me - Donate via PayPal - Got spare hardware? Donate 'em to me :) Just send me a PM.
    Currently: enjoying the early holidays :)
    Read before posting: FAQ | What you CAN'T do with JavaScript | Form Rules | Thread Title Naming Guide

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tech_support View Post
    Ok. If you wish:

    - You need a DOCTYPE with your page.

    We'll see what everyone else thinks.

    I'm going to see how much it is now...
    Forgot to mention that

    When adding doctype, it seems to break the [?] mouse overs for firefox which is extremely weird so we had to decide to not include it

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia - Near the coast.
    Posts
    1,995
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    I'm on your live chat.

    It appears to be replying twice every time.
    Peter - alotofstuffhere[dot]com - Email Me - Donate via PayPal - Got spare hardware? Donate 'em to me :) Just send me a PM.
    Currently: enjoying the early holidays :)
    Read before posting: FAQ | What you CAN'T do with JavaScript | Form Rules | Thread Title Naming Guide

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tech_support View Post
    I'm on your live chat.

    It appears to be replying twice every time.
    It works fine in IE + Firefox, what browser are you using, Opera?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia - Near the coast.
    Posts
    1,995
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    FireFox.
    Peter - alotofstuffhere[dot]com - Email Me - Donate via PayPal - Got spare hardware? Donate 'em to me :) Just send me a PM.
    Currently: enjoying the early holidays :)
    Read before posting: FAQ | What you CAN'T do with JavaScript | Form Rules | Thread Title Naming Guide

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,876
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
    Yet:
    Code:
    twey@peordh ~ $ telnet cirtexhosting.com 80
    Trying 66.246.218.16...
    Connected to cirtexhosting.com.
    Escape character is '^]'.
    HEAD / HTTP/1.1
    Connection: close
    Host: cirtexhosting.com
    Accept: application/xhtml+xml, text/html; q=0.5
    
    HTTP/1.1 200 OK
    Date: Wed, 14 Mar 2007 09:00:40 GMT
    Content-Type: text/html
    Connection: close
    X-Pad: work around browser bug
    Server: Apache/1.3.37 (Unix) mod_auth_passthrough/1.8 mod_log_bytes/1.2 mod_bwlimited/1.4 PHP/4.4.4 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635.SR1.2 mod_ssl/2.8.28 OpenSSL/0.9.7a
    
    Connection closed by foreign host.
    Your headers lie. You're sending XHTML, but they say you're sending HTML, even when I've specified not only that I accept XHTML, but also that I would prefer it. This results in browsers trying to error-correct your code into valid HTML rather than parsing it as XHTML. Of course, if you send it with the correct Content-Type (application/xhtml+xml), it won't work in IE, which doesn't support XHTML yet. Thus, if you want to support IE (which I'm guessing you probably do) you should steer clear of XHTML until IE gets support.
    Also, it would be a much bigger step towards a standard site to use HTML 4.01 Strict. XHTML Transitional is based on HTML 4 Transitional, which was intended to ease the transition between HTML 3 and HTML 4. Nobody uses HTML 3 any more, so nobody should be using Transitional DOCTYPEs either. There are several things in your document that won't validate as HTML Strict, but I won't mention them here; you can use the validator to find them for yourself after you've changed your DOCTYPE.
    Code:
    function MDM_openWindow(theURL,winName,features) 
    { 
      var _W=window.open(theURL,winName,features);
    	  _W.focus();
          _W.moveTo(50,50); 
    }
    Hm, this code looks like some of the standard junk created by some kind of GUI editor. I'd say DreamWeaver (especially coupled with the stupid XHTML Trans DOCTYPE), but I don't think it uses an MDM_ prefix. Either way, steer well clear of such things. Write your code yourself, don't trust a program to do it for you. They always muck it up. If you must have an IDE, get something like Bluefish or Aptana that helps you rather than doing it for you.
    Now this is definitely cruft from an old version of DreamWeaver:
    Code:
    <script language="javascript" type="text/JavaScript">
    function mmLoadMenus() {
      if (window.mm_menu_0821104731_0) return;
       window.mm_menu_0821104731_0 = new Menu("root",138,20,"Tahoma",11,"#FFFFFF","#FFFFFF","#66CC33","#ff8800","left","middle",3,0,300,-5,7,true,true,true,0,false,false);
      mm_menu_0821104731_0.addMenuItem("Web&nbsp;Hosting","location='shared.shtml'");
      mm_menu_0821104731_0.addMenuItem("Reseller&nbsp;Hosting","location='resellers.shtml'");
      mm_menu_0821104731_0.addMenuItem("Unmetered&nbsp;Hosting","location='unmetered.shtml'");
    
       mm_menu_0821104731_0.fontWeight="bold";
       mm_menu_0821104731_0.hideOnMouseOut=true;
       mm_menu_0821104731_0.bgColor='#269926';
       mm_menu_0821104731_0.menuBorder=1;
       mm_menu_0821104731_0.menuLiteBgColor='#FFFFFF';
       mm_menu_0821104731_0.menuBorderBgColor='#43C043';
      window.mm_menu_0821105727_0 = new Menu("root",138,20,"Tahoma",11,"#FFFFFF","#FFFFFF","#66CC33","#ff8800","left","middle",3,0,300,-5,7,true,true,true,0,false,false);
      mm_menu_0821105727_0.addMenuItem("FAQs","location='faqs.shtml'");
      mm_menu_0821105727_0.addMenuItem("Tutorials","location='tutorials.shtml'");
      mm_menu_0821105727_0.addMenuItem("Helpdesk","location='http://support.cirtex.com'");
      mm_menu_0821105727_0.addMenuItem("Billing","location='https://billing.cirtex.com'");
      mm_menu_0821105727_0.addMenuItem("Tools","location='tools.shtml'");
      mm_menu_0821105727_0.addMenuItem("Contact&nbsp;Us","location='contact.shtml'");
       mm_menu_0821105727_0.fontWeight="bold";
       mm_menu_0821105727_0.hideOnMouseOut=true;
       mm_menu_0821105727_0.bgColor='#269926';
       mm_menu_0821105727_0.menuBorder=1;
       mm_menu_0821105727_0.menuLiteBgColor='#FFFFFF';
       mm_menu_0821105727_0.menuBorderBgColor='#43C043';
    
    mm_menu_0821105727_0.writeMenus();
    } // mmLoadMenus()
    <!--
    function MM_preloadImages() { //v3.0
      var d=document; if(d.images){ if(!d.MM_p) d.MM_p=new Array();
        var i,j=d.MM_p.length,a=MM_preloadImages.arguments; for(i=0; i<a.length; i++)
        if (a[i].indexOf("#")!=0){ d.MM_p[j]=new Image; d.MM_p[j++].src=a[i];}}
    }
    
    function MM_swapImgRestore() { //v3.0
      var i,x,a=document.MM_sr; for(i=0;a&&i<a.length&&(x=a[i])&&x.oSrc;i++) x.src=x.oSrc;
    }
    
    function MM_findObj(n, d) { //v4.01
      var p,i,x;  if(!d) d=document; if((p=n.indexOf("?"))>0&&parent.frames.length) {
        d=parent.frames[n.substring(p+1)].document; n=n.substring(0,p);}
      if(!(x=d[n])&&d.all) x=d.all[n]; for (i=0;!x&&i<d.forms.length;i++) x=d.forms[i][n];
      for(i=0;!x&&d.layers&&i<d.layers.length;i++) x=MM_findObj(n,d.layers[i].document);
      if(!x && d.getElementById) x=d.getElementById(n); return x;
    }
    
    function MM_swapImage() { //v3.0
      var i,j=0,x,a=MM_swapImage.arguments; document.MM_sr=new Array; for(i=0;i<(a.length-2);i+=3)
       if ((x=MM_findObj(a[i]))!=null){document.MM_sr[j++]=x; if(!x.oSrc) x.oSrc=x.src; x.src=a[i+2];}
    }
    //-->
    </script>
    It looks very non-standard, although I can't tell without looking at the Menu function, which is in a different file that would take an age to load with my current connection problems. Either way, it's still ugly. Ditch it.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,581
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Default

    That looks like a generated FrontPage menu... hmm.
    - Mike

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •