Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Eric's pop-up wizard help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    IA
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Eric's pop-up wizard help

    1) Script Title: Pop-up Window Generator

    2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex8/popwin.htm

    3) Describe problem: I cannot fit the entire url of page in that one dialog box. I want to know if I can somehow get it all in there without hanging my url. I can shorten the url, but not by very much.
    url would be: http://www.west-bend.k12.ia.us/wbmne...hure/index.htm
    I can shorten it to .../wbmnew/broc/index.htm but that is about it.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    You really don't need to worry about that. Just use the default - google, I think it is. The only place that the URL shows up in the generated code is in Step 2 as the href attribute of a link. Once you get everything else done and copied, just substitute your URL for google's.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    IA
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    thnx already got it figured out.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    IA
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Coming back to this script, I found another problem. I cannot get the pop-up window to pop up. Any suggestions on how to fix it is welcomed, except redoing it. did that and didn't work for either FF or IE

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Well, there are those pesky pop up blockers you know. The more aggressive settings will block even the so-called 'user initiated' pop up of this script. However, without seeing your page I can't really say for sure what the trouble is.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    IA
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    OK, I am not too sure it is a pop up blocker. I mean it goes to the page, but not in the designated pop-up. it does it in the browser windo instead. Not new tab but the window im on.

    click here

    this is to the index and the only link is the pop up link. There is no info because i want my stuff to work before i add all of this.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    There is no script on that page (you forgot step 1 from the demo).
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    IA
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jscheuer1 View Post
    There is no script on that page (you forgot step 1 from the demo).
    Sorry about that. I put the js in a js file and linked it.
    i've got the js right here to view.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    No you didn't. Here is your source code:

    Code:
    <html>
    
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Language" content="en-us">
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1252">
    <meta name="GENERATOR" content="Microsoft FrontPage 6.0">
    <meta name="ProgId" content="FrontPage.Editor.Document">
    <title>New Page 1</title>
    <meta name="Microsoft Theme" content="none">
    </head>
    
    <body>
    
    <p>This is just the start. This page is to be replaced when the main page is
    completed.</p>
    
    
    <a href="http://www.google.com" onclick="NewWindow(this.href,'mywin','900','900','yes','center');return false" onfocus="this.blur()">YourLinkText</a>
    </body>
    
    </html>
    Check again . . .

    Also, once you do include the script or a link to it on your page, make sure the credit appears on the page as well (DD Usage policy)
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    IA
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Smile

    Okay, i put the link and javascript on the link page. i have the js in the pop up file. no more separate file. What i gave was the link page. the link to the js was on the page traveled to by link. The attachment was the js. Now i am not using the link to the js. i have the actual js in both pages. Which file was it supposed to be in anyways? Well it is redone again and like this and still does not work right.

    page with link

    Page wanted in pop-up window

    i am sorry for all the confusion and hassle. you of most people john. i thank you a lot. you do a lot for people and i noticed that you are up early and late in the day.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •