Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: My mom's HDD.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Acton Ontario Canada.
    Posts
    677
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default My mom's HDD.

    I'm copying her files to a cd, then reformatting the HDD.
    After I'm done, she's going to reinstall windows.
    One problem.

    Access is denied for E:/documents and settings/administator.

    Any way to get around this?
    - Ryan "Boxxertrumps" Trumpa
    Come back once it validates: HTML, CSS, JS.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    St. George, UT
    Posts
    2,769
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 157 Times in 155 Posts

    Default

    You could try going into the folder using DOS commands. (Off topic, sortof) I had that problem with a client's harddrive. Even after trying dos commands, I still couldn't get into it. For some reason, either the client (who said it was not password protected) or Windows itself somehow protected that directory from being accessed. No clue why or how.

    Anyways, hope this helps.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Other Side of My Monitor
    Posts
    3,486
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 105 Times in 104 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    From the log in screen you do ctrl + alt + del TWICE. This will bring up the administrator account, by default there is NO password, so you just type user as administrator, leave password blank and hit ENTER. Now you are in the Admin's account and can copy those files.

    I have had to do this a few times. Oh, and this is assuming she is running Win XP
    {CWoT - Riddle } {OSTU - Psycho} {Invasion - Team}
    Follow Me on Twitter: @Negative_Chaos
    PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3");
    echo 
    $result

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,878
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    I doubt there's anything useful in there, though.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,626
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 107 Times in 107 Posts

    Default

    If you have a bootable Windows CD then you can perform the formatting operation while executing the Windows Setup and I am sure that it won't ignite any unwanted questions.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia - Near the coast.
    Posts
    1,995
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    "fdisk"

    or using the WinXP way, Delete Partition then format.
    Peter - alotofstuffhere[dot]com - Email Me - Donate via PayPal - Got spare hardware? Donate 'em to me :) Just send me a PM.
    Currently: enjoying the early holidays :)
    Read before posting: FAQ | What you CAN'T do with JavaScript | Form Rules | Thread Title Naming Guide

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Acton Ontario Canada.
    Posts
    677
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    The problem is that you cant login at all, so i hooked her hardrive up to my comp, so that i could delete everything thats unneeded and burn the stuff that she asked me to save onto a disk.

    ill try fdisk, then Dos.
    thanks
    - Ryan "Boxxertrumps" Trumpa
    Come back once it validates: HTML, CSS, JS.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,162
    Thanks
    263
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    Remove the harddrive for the computer, mount as a secondary hard drive in another computer, then just go in there and copy stuff.

    If you have a mac or linux machine, then accessing the files should be easy and there should be no password trouble. But if not.... there is likely still some way with a windows machine.


    ...or.... did you already do this?

    you should be able to get around the password/login. Try another OS. That's the best idea, I think.
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| espa˝ol | Deutsch | italiano | portuguŕs | catalÓ | un peu de franšais | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Acton Ontario Canada.
    Posts
    677
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    ive been trying to get ubuntu running, theres a prototype EXE that installs it to the same partition as windows.
    i just need to extract "ubuntu"(file, no extention) to "ubuntu"(folder).

    but she cant function without her comp. if i dont have it by tonight she's going to get really pissed at me.

    and i deleted everything except the docs and settings folder.
    if she reinstalled windows, would it remain intact?

    i also think ill try setting up a "administator" account, to see if i can get into the folder that way...

    so dos, fdisk, and a new admin account. i have things to do tonight...
    - Ryan "Boxxertrumps" Trumpa
    Come back once it validates: HTML, CSS, JS.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,162
    Thanks
    263
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    Another possible easy answer is this:
    sometimes, I think, administrator accounts can block each other from accessing themselves.
    However, if you have access to the main account, and that has admin privelages, you can change the administrator account... either the password, security settings, or just change it to a lower account, then gain access like that.


    The other thing to consider here is that you may be duplicating the problem in the first place. If you are unsure as to what caused the problem, then copying the admin folder is a really bad idea... it could likely be in there.
    there's not much in the admin folder that would be needed, except some preference files for apps and such, but that might be exactly what is causing the trouble.
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| espa˝ol | Deutsch | italiano | portuguŕs | catalÓ | un peu de franšais | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •