Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: rss ticker target in blank

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default rss ticker target in blank

    1) Script Title: rsstickerajax

    2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...ajax/index.htm

    3) Describe problem:
    Hello,

    1-I want to have target link in blank. target=_blank for each link on rss news.
    Currently the target of the news open in the same window.

    How to modify that ?

    2- How to display more than 1 news by website. I want to display the 5 news of CNN for exemple.

    Thank you
    Last edited by Jennie; 02-09-2007 at 03:53 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,496
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    The easiest method would be to set the base target for the page in the head:

    HTML Code:
    <base target="_blank">
    But, any other links on the page that you don't want opening new windows would need to have their targets specified as _self:

    HTML Code:
    <a href="whatever.htm" target="_self">Link Text or image tag</a>
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thank you jscheuer It's working nice

    Do you know how to add more news ?

    I have cnn.xml for exemple. It's display only 1 news.
    I want to add more news on the same table from cnn

    cnn news
    This is the first news
    date
    the first news is...
    This is the second news
    date
    the second news is...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,496
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    I don't understand. Could you please explain in more detail what you want?
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Sorry,

    I want to display more than one news from the same website.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,496
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    The demo page does that, doesn't it? One at a time but, more than one. Anyways, I thought about this some more since my last post. I think you want several at once. Does it matter how many? I have some ideas but no PHP enabled server where I would feel comfortable testing them out. Before I get into coding anything specifically, let's get your requirements as narrowly defined as possible, OK?
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •