View Poll Results: What OS do you use?

Voters
17. You may not vote on this poll
  • Windows (95+)

    12 70.59%
  • Mac

    2 11.76%
  • Linux

    9 52.94%
  • Other

    2 11.76%
Multiple Choice Poll.
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30

Thread: Can I get a word from the Linux fans?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,878
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Hm, good point. Yes, there are entire graphical games that run in DOS. However, if it were DOS, it would follow that the hard drive would be boxxertrumps' own, and thus that any programs would be in his own language.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Other Side of My Monitor
    Posts
    3,486
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 105 Times in 104 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    I think he is talking about the use of the ubuntu disk, like getting the spash screen. (note the Ubuntu disk of 6.10 is a live C.D. so if you are installing on it's own hard drive you need to do so from a disk with an eth0 connection at a minimum.)


    Also the default language of Ubuntu is German, make sure you download the English version


    Fedora Core 5 and 6 used here.
    {CWoT - Riddle } {OSTU - Psycho} {Invasion - Team}
    Follow Me on Twitter: @Negative_Chaos
    PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3");
    echo 
    $result

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    IA
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I can't answer this. I never had this problem.

    But thanks blizzard. That is probably it.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    IA
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Twey View Post
    though why a Linux shell would have A:/> as its prompt, I've no idea...
    Linux, especially Ubuntu, does not recognize its drive by letters but by name.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,878
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Hence my confusion.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Acton Ontario Canada.
    Posts
    677
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    no actually, i found that i royally screwed up when making the CD, and the contents of the drive was that of a regular boot disk.
    - Ryan "Boxxertrumps" Trumpa
    Come back once it validates: HTML, CSS, JS.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    🌎
    Posts
    528
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    I randomly switch between Windows XP, Windows Vista, Mac OS 9 and Ubuntu. Soon, I might get Mac OS 4, Windows 2000, Windows 3.1, Windows 95, Windows 98, Kubuntu and Haiku. (Yes, I use Virtual PC programs. Windows Vista is my base OS.)

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    116
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I would run it if I could get it to support my RAID array.
    "Rock and roll ain't noise pollution." - AC/DC

    http://www.blake-foster.com

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    IA
    Posts
    77
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I likely to end up as like techno_race

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    미네소타, 미국
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    i use XP home (oem) pro (msinternal) and media and FDCore2
    The only person I think is cool is -==INSERT YOUR NAME HERE==-

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •