Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: AJAX Includes script - £ sign?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question AJAX Includes script - £ sign?

    Hi Great Site.

    I have a simple question hopefully there's a simple answer...

    I have used the AJAX Includes script (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...axincludes.htm)

    To link several reports into one large report ... this work great, except that everything is copied through, except £ signs, dollar signs work fine however the £ sign simply does not appear in the full report, and as you can imagine this is quite critical at times.

    Is there a way I can get round this?

    Thanks in advance

    Richard.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,164
    Thanks
    265
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    Is the £ just part of text? The issue is, perhaps, that you could use the html ascii code (or entity) for the symbol, not the character itself. http://lookuptables.com should help.

    Use &#num; to display in the html.

    I'm not exactly sure what the issue is, but this should be a workaround.

    Logically, something about the character, considering it is in an extended character set, is just not liked somewhere in the process.

    Dollar signs should work... they're very normal characters. The £ symbol isn't. To play with this, you could test other symbols as well, such as accented characters, and upsidedown question marks and exclamation points, etc etc. (And greek letters are always fun...)
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| español | Deutsch | italiano | português | català | un peu de français | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for that idea, unfortunatly didn't work. I just get the &#num in the final text,

    Just to clarify the £ is included in the text from the original html file.

    For Example.....

    "Applications reduce to just under £157m (10,678 cases)"

    in the original file is displayed as ...

    "Applications reduce to just under 157m (10,678 cases)."

    in the combined document, which is rather frustrating!.

    Are there any similar scripts which do the same task but do display the £ sign?

    Cheers

    Richard

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    St. George, UT
    Posts
    2,769
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 157 Times in 155 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Richard1968 View Post
    I just get the &#num in the final text,
    Did you type in just like that, or did you look at the table and put the correct number for your symbol? (For example: did you type it in "&#num" or "& # 163;"?)

    Edit: Do not put the spaces between them like I did above. I had to do it like that on here or else it would actually display the character.
    "Computer games don't affect kids; I mean if Pac-Man affected us as kids, we'd all be running around in darkened rooms, munching magic pills and listening to repetitive electronic music." - Kristian Wilson, Nintendo, Inc, 1989
    TheUnlimitedHost | The Testing Site | Southern Utah Web Hosting and Design

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,878
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    This is one solution, but should not be necessary. So long as both pages are UTF-8 encoded, and the server specifies this, there should be no issue.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends français | entiendo español | tôi ít hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,164
    Thanks
    265
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    Yes, &#num; is invalid. &#XX;.... use the number of the character to be displayed, as thetestingsite said.

    Twey, does that work in all browsers? It is an extended/unusual character, so not sure if that's the case... But you're saying so, so it likely is.
    Last edited by djr33; 01-10-2007 at 05:45 PM. Reason: Correction/typo
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| español | Deutsch | italiano | português | català | un peu de français | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,878
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    It is an extended/unusual browser, so not sure if that's the case...
    What is? If you mean "encoding" rather than "browser," then yes, all modern browsers ought to support UTF-8.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends français | entiendo español | tôi ít hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,164
    Thanks
    265
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    I don't know why I typed browser. Sorry for the typo. (Fixing above.)

    I meant extended/unusual character.
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| español | Deutsch | italiano | português | català | un peu de français | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for all the assistance

    Yes I type in "&#num" with no spaces however this was not read the same as the £ sign itself.

    I will continue to investigate and let you know if I find an answer.

    Not being an experienced web author I'm not really sure what "UTF-8 encoded" means? ... How would I know if the pages were UTF-* encoded?

    Once again many thanks

    Richard.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thankyou all.

    After spending a little more time the "&#163" idea worked a treat.

    Thanks for you help

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •