Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Prevent flash playing onload

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default Prevent flash playing onload

    I've included an external swf to a website.
    Is there a parameter (or other way) to add inside <object> tag to prevent playing swf onload and make it play only if the user click inside the window animation ?
    I've tried <param name="play" value="false"> didn't work

    Any advice would be helpfull
    Last edited by glucarelli; 12-10-2006 at 03:10 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    As far as I know, flash movie will need to have a stop(); action in the first frame of the first scene in order to not play right away, regardless of what the parameters say in the <object> tag. Additionally, a button hotspot would need to be added over the entire flash movie that initates the play(); command when the viewer clicks on it. I'm not sure that you can do anything about it without owning the original .fla file.

    on (release){
    play();
    }

    A possible work around would be to try and screenshot the first frame of the flash movie and make a static image out of it. Then try to find a script that "swaps" content on a click. Put the static image on your page and have it "swap" to the flash content when the viewer clicks.

    That's just me brainstorming. I don't know if there's a script that will do the swap thing, but it's all I can think of.

    Good luck!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Other Side of My Monitor
    Posts
    3,494
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 105 Times in 104 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Depending on your Flash version, when you publish the fla into an swf there is an option on the flash tab to pause at start.

    then all you need is a button to start playing on press or release.
    {CWoT - Riddle } {Freelance Copywriter} {Learn to Write}
    Follow Me on Twitter: @InkingHubris
    PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3");
    echo 
    $result

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for yours answers.

    I didn't have the .fla source of the .swf file but i have the .sqf source (Sothink Quicker).
    Quote Originally Posted by BLiZZaRD View Post
    Depending on your Flash version, when you publish the fla into an swf there is an option on the flash tab to pause at start.

    then all you need is a button to start playing on press or release.
    Is there a way to convert .sqf file to .fla or a similar option in Sothink to pause at start as BLiZZaRD wrote ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Other Side of My Monitor
    Posts
    3,494
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 105 Times in 104 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    You can try a decompiler. Sothink makes one. Although you will have to battle the "ethical" question.

    If you bought this file, you can always contact the maker and explain what you want to do and they should either send you the fla OR at the very least do the fix for you.

    There are other ways but they don't work in all browsers and rarly at all other wise.
    {CWoT - Riddle } {Freelance Copywriter} {Learn to Write}
    Follow Me on Twitter: @InkingHubris
    PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3");
    echo 
    $result

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Thank you BLiZZaRD

    Solved my problem,i've found how to add a button to start the animation in the .sqf file.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Other Side of My Monitor
    Posts
    3,494
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 105 Times in 104 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Congrats!

    If you have a link to the tut or site where you got your information, may be worth posting for others coming after you to help them answer the question
    {CWoT - Riddle } {Freelance Copywriter} {Learn to Write}
    Follow Me on Twitter: @InkingHubris
    PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3");
    echo 
    $result

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    Just learned how to add a button in Sothink Quicker with the .sqf file i was thinking .sqf langage was different than .fla but it's very similar

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •