Advanced Search

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: I am not able to load ASP pages

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default I am not able to load ASP pages

    Hi everyone,

    I've been using the ajaxpage function this way:

    <a href="javascript:ajaxpage('sample.asp', 'content');">Link</a>

    Where:

    content is a <DIV> tag ID.

    It works great in IE 6, however doesn't work on Firefox 2.0 at all.

    I also found the article below which shows a really great AJAX technique:

    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...tent/index.htm

    Someone actually uses this tecnique to load PHP pages, however when trying the same example with ASP page doesn't seem to work.

    Is there any way to make this ajaxpage function work with ASP pages?

    Thank you in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,156
    Thanks
    262
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    The link you posted is invalid... it includes the elipses (...) in the URL it points to, so you probably just didn't notice when cutting/pasting.

    Not sure about the problem (yet).

    Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic script so we can check it out.

    Warning: Please include a link to the DD script in question in your post. See this thread for the proper posting format when asking a question.
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| espa˝ol | Deutsch | italiano | portuguŕs | catalÓ | un peu de franšais | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Sorry for the broken link in previous message.

    This is the link for the DD sample I also tried to use to load ASP pages without success:

    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...tent/index.htm

    As mentioned in previous message, this technique:

    <a href="javascript:ajaxpage('sample.asp', 'content');">Link</a>

    Works great in IE6 (IE7 don't know yet) but it doesn't work in Firefox 2.0 at all.

    Here is the link to my site to see what I mean:

    http://www.tremx.com

    Click on any link that opens an ASP page.

    Please advise.

    Thank you in advance.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Any clues anyone?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,156
    Thanks
    262
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    I'm not really sure why it isn't working, but you shouldn't be relying on ajax for your whole site... that's the whole point of loading a new page.... compatible, works well, and no trouble shooting to deal with...

    EDIT: I don't see any examples of non .asp pages to try loading in ff on your page.... I doubt it has anything to do with the extension....
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| espa˝ol | Deutsch | italiano | portuguŕs | catalÓ | un peu de franšais | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Here is an example of using same DD script and loading HTML pages and it works great, no issues whatsoever:

    http://www.rcntech.com/rocketpowermedia/

    Click on any "Learn More" or "Sign Up" links to see what I mean. All links under the flash buttons are also loading HTML pages as well.

    Thank you.
    Last edited by ajaxdude; 11-28-2006 at 06:42 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Is this a Firefox 2.0 issue?

    Does anyone has previous versions of Firefox to try it out?

    Thanks.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,156
    Thanks
    262
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    Since that other example page is based in flash, it's hard to tell without a lot closer inspection what is different in that from yours.

    However, I assume that the problem isn't asp, but rather something about your code.
    I'm really not sure what.
    I do more PHP and javascript.

    I would suggest making a VERY simple version of the page with JUST the script and a button to load an .asp page. If it works, then it's the bigger more complex page that has something wrong with it, not the script itself.
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| espa˝ol | Deutsch | italiano | portuguŕs | catalÓ | un peu de franšais | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I will definetely try that today and see what happens.

    Thank you for the feedback.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Yes, you were right the problem wasn't the DD script.

    My code was the problem, I already fixed it, however now I have a different issue when loading asp pages with html form using the DD script

    I put some code together, so you can take a look at it and advise.

    Please see link below using both IE and FF 2.0, click on PORSCHE PAGE and you will notice that IE loads the html form and input type fields but FF 2.0 don't, it just shows the text that is outside of it.

    http://www.tremx.com/development/ajaxcars.asp

    I hope you understand what I mean.

    Thank you in advance.
    Last edited by ajaxdude; 11-29-2006 at 06:09 AM.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •