Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: css - instead of gif baner - .swf baner

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question css - instead of gif baner - .swf baner

    In css I have this code:

    Code:
    #content {
    background: url(body.gif) center repeat-y;
    position : absolute;
    left : 50%;
    width : 700px;
    margin-left : -350px;
    }
    How can i change body.gif to use .swf instead of this?
    If I change .gif to .swf it won't work.. It doesn't show the swf... It needs to change the "background: url(body.gif) center repeat-y;", since swf can't be displayed as backgorund right?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Other Side of My Monitor
    Posts
    3,494
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 105 Times in 104 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    No, because the SWF needs to be embeded i the page.

    You could embed it in an external .js file and call that, although I have never seen/attempted this, it's just a hunch..
    {CWoT - Riddle } {Freelance Copywriter} {Learn to Write}
    Follow Me on Twitter: @InkingHubris
    PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3");
    echo 
    $result

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,164
    Thanks
    265
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    .swf, like movie clip objects, applets, etc. is not a format natively supported in browsers.
    Just like a .bmp or .psd don't display in an image tag, .swf won't either.

    The formats, to my knowledge, that ARE supported, are only .gif, .jpg (.jpe and .jpeg as well), and .png.

    .swf can be the banner, but only as an object in the page.

    Look up the html code for embedding and object, and it should include both the <embed> and <object> tags for most support.

    Also, if you're using flash, then there is an option, somewhere in the saving menu, I think, to export as a webpage, so it will automatically generate that code for you. Just copy/paste that block of html into your page, and that should work.
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| español | Deutsch | italiano | português | català | un peu de français | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Other Side of My Monitor
    Posts
    3,494
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 105 Times in 104 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by djr33 View Post
    Also, if you're using flash, then there is an option, somewhere in the saving menu, I think, to export as a webpage, so it will automatically generate that code for you. Just copy/paste that block of html into your page, and that should work.
    Yes, just FYI its in the publish settings menu:

    File >> Publish Settings >> check HTML box >> Publish.

    Then you can open/edit the html page it makes.

    On a side note though, the <embed> tag wont validate, and there is a new way around that. in the <object>...</object> secion just add (or verify it is there) the param tag like this:

    Code:
    <param name="movie" value="movie name.swf" />
    Where "movie name" is the same name as the id="" in the opening <object classid....> part.
    {CWoT - Riddle } {Freelance Copywriter} {Learn to Write}
    Follow Me on Twitter: @InkingHubris
    PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3");
    echo 
    $result

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,164
    Thanks
    265
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    Good to know.
    I'm stunned... you'd think that a WYSIWYG editor developed by macromedia/adobe (or at least it's counterpart) would at LEAST have validating code for their own proprietary format.
    That's crazy.
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| español | Deutsch | italiano | português | català | un peu de français | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Other Side of My Monitor
    Posts
    3,494
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 105 Times in 104 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Well it might be different now that there are ways, I am still using Flash from 2 versions back, so I get what was cool and hip at that time
    {CWoT - Riddle } {Freelance Copywriter} {Learn to Write}
    Follow Me on Twitter: @InkingHubris
    PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3");
    echo 
    $result

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •