Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Problem with FF and SuckerTree Vertical Menu (v1.1)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Problem with FF and SuckerTree Vertical Menu (v1.1)

    1) Script Title: SuckerTree Vertical Menu (v1.1)

    2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/cs...menu-vertical/

    3) Describe problem:

    Greetings everyone! I am new to the CSS world and web development in general so I know that I am sure to make many mistakes. Thats how to learn it I guess.

    My problem with this script is that it doesn't display correctly in Firefox. It works fine in IE 7 but in Firefox the menu shows as fully expanded and the menu items are displayed (without the option to expand the menu) all the way down the length of the page.

    I receive an error from FF stating the following:

    Error: [Exception... "Index or size is negative or greater than the allowed amount" code: "1" nsresult: "0x80530001 (NS_ERROR_DOM_INDEX_SIZE_ERR)" location: "http://xxx.html: 129"]
    Source File: http://xxx.html
    Line: 129
    Line 129 in the js for my page is:

    ultags[t].style.left=ultags[t-1].getElementsByTagName("a")[0].offsetWidth+"px" //position menu to the right of menu item that activated it
    Is there something simple here I am missing? Any help any of you could offer would be most appreciated.

    TIA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,140
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1,008 Times in 993 Posts
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic script so we can check it out.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Yes! I suppose that would help eh?

    here ya go:

    http://www.megagate.com/~jmarien/vmenucss.html

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,140
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1,008 Times in 993 Posts
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    The HTML for all your sub lists are broken/ incorrect. For example:

    Code:
    <li><a href="#Sales and Advertising"><strong>Sales and Advertising</strong></a></li>
    	<ul>
    	<li><a href="cnn.com">Advertising Work Order</a></li>
    	<li><a title="cnn.com">Order Logo Merchandise</a></li>
    	<li><a href="cnn.com">Ads on the Internet</a></li>
    	</ul>
    It should be:

    Code:
    <li><a href="#Sales and Advertising"><strong>Sales and Advertising</strong></a>
    	<ul>
    	<li><a href="cnn.com">Advertising Work Order</a></li>
    	<li><a title="cnn.com">Order Logo Merchandise</a></li>
    	<li><a href="cnn.com">Ads on the Internet</a></li>
    	</ul>
    </li>
    The <li> needs to wrap around the entire <ul> sub list. You may want to refresh yourself on the syntax for lists in HTML.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Ah yes! Certainly a glaring omission on my part. However, that doesn't seem to have corrected the problem in FF

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,140
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1,008 Times in 993 Posts
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    Nope you still haven't corrected the HTML markup. For example:

    Code:
    <li><a href="#Accounting"><strong>Accounting</strong></a></li>
    	<ul>
    	<li><a href="cnn.com">A/R Transaction Codes</a></li>
    	<li><a href="cnn.com">Credit Policies</a></li>
    	</ul>
    </li>
    The part in red doesn't belong there. Removing those closing tags fixes the issue in Firefox.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Sent you a PM thanking you, but I'll put it here for all the world to see as well! That worked. Thanks alot for your time.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •