Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Centering UL content and positioning in FF

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Centering UL content and positioning in FF

    Yo,

    Having a niggly little problem with this site: http://www.mahoosive.co.uk/eccl/

    I would like the top menu to be centered, but can't figure it out. I've tried putting it in it's own div with margin: 0 auto; and text-align: center; but didn't work.

    Also, in FF the top links don't appear in the right place, never really fussed about site not working in FF, our users don't have it. But would be nice to have it looking the same across the board.

    Thanks in advance for anyone that can help..

    Cheers

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Use the vertical align property.

    Try:

    vertical-align: top;

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Tried that, and it doesnt sort it out in FF...

    Any more ideas? It's been baffling me for ages now!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Should really mention, that the centering issue is happening in IE (6&7)

    cheers

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,358
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrmahoosive View Post
    http://www.mahoosive.co.uk/eccl/

    I would like the top menu to be centered, but can't figure it out. I've tried putting it in it's own div with margin: 0 auto; and text-align: center; but didn't work.
    You're floating both the anchors and the list items. Do neither. Remove the display property declaration within the "#top a" rule, and add a display declaration to the "#top li" rule with the value, inline.

    Also, in FF the top links don't appear in the right place, never really fussed about site not working in FF, our users don't have it. But would be nice to have it looking the same across the board.
    The ul element has a top margin.

    In general, if you are going to fiddle with the margins for any element to effect a particular layout, remove all margins and padding

    Code:
    * {
        margin: 0;
        padding: 0;
    }
    and then add them where needed. This sidesteps differences between the default style sheets of various browsers.

    Why do you have so many br elements, and why isn't that list of areas not marked-up as a list?

    Mike

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    br elements are through lazyness at the moment. i copied the text from a word doc hense the crap formatting at the moment.

    they'll be sorted tomorrow.

    Thanks for the help on that though, sorted it out like a treat.

    Cheers,

    James

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •