Thread: Delay

Thanks

Default Delay

hi all,
    question for javascripts programmers
    i'm a beginner in javascript but not in programming by other langs and i'm using setTimeout to make delay in my animation for div block, i have four divs each one can expand and collapsed as a slide, the problem occur when more than one block move in the same time, and the reason because the seTimeout is a delay to execute a javascript code, function...etc and in this case the code execution will jump and execute what is after setTimeout, before end the execution of the script setTimeout

in another word, i want a way for delay that make the execution of the code stop until finish delay period and run the script that linked to the delay command. I don’t know if there is another way not using setTimeout or setInterval.

i think javascript is make more than one thread in its execution, not as one thread. i tried to re-write my code, but no way, i thought about AJAX also but i hope to find a way to solve that in javascript itself.

best regards

Thanks
    Blog Entries

setTimeout() and setInterval() both create new threads. There's no way to prevent this. You simply have to stop processing after you've called one, then resuming processing in the new thread.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends français | entiendo español | tôi ít hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Twey View Post
    setTimeout() and setInterval() both create new threads.
    Not within the browser. Browser scripting engines are single-threaded. The setTimeout and setInterval methods cause internal events to be raised, and then, at the next opportunity, the browser executes the given code. No interruptions, and no concurrency.

Mike

Thanks