Advanced Search

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 56

Thread: [DHTML] Multi-level Effect Menu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    882
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default [DHTML] Multi-level Effect Menu

    1) CODE TITLE: Multi-level Effect Menu

    2) AUTHOR NAME/NOTES:Brady Mulhollem

    3) DESCRIPTION: A horizontal/vertical menu that features many options. More on the demo page.

    4) URL TO CODE: Demo and description are here.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    28,677
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3,126 Times in 3,092 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    In Opera 9.01 several of the effects cause the flyout to disappear and/or redraw when the mouse traverses from the trigger to the flyout. This is generally fixed by having some kind of delay onmouseout of the trigger before the flyout disappears. However, if you already have that, it probably has to do with Opera not recognizing that the mouse is over the flyout due to some style property applied to the flyout for a given effect.

    Particularly bad were the two blind wipes for the horizontal menu. It also appears as though the border (or what looks like the border) of the trigger isn't considered as a part of the trigger and flyout for the purposes of determining if the mouse is still over one or the other of them.

    A very ambitious menu. Looks like it shouldn't be too hard to either fix these items or disable them where they may cause problems.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9,862
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 959 Times in 948 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default

    I agree with John. The script looks like it has a lot of potential, but as is, it's quite rough around the edges. For example, the submenus are not completely aligned to the triggering menu item, meaning you have to carefully move your mouse over to the submenu, or it will disappear on you. The way the submenus appear is just very jittery it feels.

    Please keep us posted on further developments on this menu. It definitely has a lot of potential, with a better interface, and more importantly, improved submenu behavior.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    882
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    well. I updated it based on what you both said. The border is only 1px wide and I that is more of a browser issue so there was not fix for that. It was actualy intetional that they wouldn't line up so that was very easy to fix

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9,862
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 959 Times in 948 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default

    It definitely feels more "solid" now! I noticed with the multiple level examples (>2 levels), the sub menu don't automatically disappear when the mouse leaves the submenu. Is that intentional? I'd think most people would prefer that it did.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,581
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Default

    There's an error on the horizontal-menu in FF though... I just tried it.
    - Mike

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    882
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ddadmin
    I noticed with the multiple level examples (>2 levels), the sub menu don't automatically disappear when the mouse leaves the submenu. Is that intentional? I'd think most people would prefer that it did.
    I was unable to reproduce this. What browser did you notice it in? Also was it a particular effect?
    Quote Originally Posted by mburt
    There's an error on the horizontal-menu in FF though... I just tried it.
    What error? The only one I am aware of is the "double border". It is less an error than an annoyance.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9,862
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 959 Times in 948 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by blm126
    I was unable to reproduce this. What browser did you notice it in? Also was it a particular effect?
    I was using the latest version of Firefox (1.5x). I think I found the culprit- if the submenu appears above the textarea, moving the mouse out won't trigger the submenu to disappear.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,581
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Default

    The menu was sort of "shaking" when I tried it.
    - Mike

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    882
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mburt
    The menu was sort of "shaking" when I tried it.
    lol,read the page. That is one of the features!


    As to the firefox/textarea problem. I have confirmed that this is only occuring in Firefox and it also happens in Firefox 2 beta 2. I plan to make a simple script to see if the problem is something I did or a firefox bug. I'm starting to think it is a firefox bug. However, a quick search of bugzilla didn't turn up anything.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •