Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: fonts in flash

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default fonts in flash

    Hi, I made the website www.jofi.be

    I used special fonts in the flashfiles. But on some computers u can not see the fonts. So it happens that u cant see the navigation.

    Is there any way to fix this?

    thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,876
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Don't use special fonts that no-one else has?
    "Safe" fonts are:
    • Times New Roman
    • Courier
    • Arial
    • serif
    • sans-serif
    • monospace
    The latter three aren't actually fonts, they're font families. The system will choose a specific font.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Other Side of My Monitor
    Posts
    3,494
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 105 Times in 104 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Actually, contrary to Tweys (true) statement, you can make the fonts avaliable to everyone in your Flash files. When you publish the fla into an swf, you just need to embed the fonts.

    It is different on how to embed the fonts in Flash based on the version you are using.

    Either post back with your Flash version, or you can go to the HELP section of Flash and index search Embed Fonts.
    {CWoT - Riddle } {Freelance Copywriter} {Learn to Write}
    Follow Me on Twitter: @InkingHubris
    PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3");
    echo 
    $result

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,876
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Font embedding? :-\

    I've never seen the point. If you're going to distribute the font anyway, you might as well draw the text using vectors in the first place.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Other Side of My Monitor
    Posts
    3,494
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 105 Times in 104 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Convert Lines to Fills. Select all text and it's done. Even easier than embedding fonts and much easier than drawing your letters. I wasn't going to battle semantics, just saying it was do-able
    {CWoT - Riddle } {Freelance Copywriter} {Learn to Write}
    Follow Me on Twitter: @InkingHubris
    PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3");
    echo 
    $result

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    584
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BLiZZaRD
    Convert Lines to Fills. Select all text and it's done. Even easier than embedding fonts and much easier than drawing your letters. I wasn't going to battle semantics, just saying it was do-able
    Blizzard do you know any good sites which have pixel fonts for Flash?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Other Side of My Monitor
    Posts
    3,494
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 105 Times in 104 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Not off the top of my head. I make all my text in FLash it self so they are all vector to begin with.

    What are you trying to accomplish? I may know another way. Or do you just want pixel graphics?
    {CWoT - Riddle } {Freelance Copywriter} {Learn to Write}
    Follow Me on Twitter: @InkingHubris
    PHP Code:
    $result mysql_query("SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3");
    echo 
    $result

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •