Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Opencube menu Credit link question

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Opencube menu Credit link question

    Hello every one
    My name is Intellectual Homer, first time user and visitor to this forum.

    I have a question regarding the credit link. I searched the forums but didnít find an answer.

    I have a webpage divided by two horizontal frames. The top frame holds from top to bottom, a horizontal Infinites Menu script, a banner jpg, and the credit link.
    Below is the second frame, which is going to hold all the websiteís content. This frame however, covers the credit link. Iíll explain why in a second.

    I do not want to break the terms of use, so my question is: Can I, without removing the credit link from the first frame of course, place the credit link within every other page in the second frame as well so that it is still visible under all pageís credits and copyrights? or perhaps within a third always visible frame?

    Iíll like to have the menu and the banner load only once, so that is why Iím using the frames, but the credit link distracts the viewer from the menu and people keep on clicking on it thinking is part of the website.

    The page is not online yet, but Iíll like to know if this is possible before having to change the whole layout again in case is not. I am not very experienced on web design any more, so any feedback would be appreciated.

    Thanks

    ____________
    ...and yes I am aware of the fact that I misspelled "Intelectual" within my user name.
    Last edited by Intelectual Homer; 08-07-2006 at 07:32 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,581
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 28 Times in 28 Posts

    Default

    I hate to say this, but I have no cluse what you're talking about. So if you could possibly post the code, or put it online, I would be able to evaluate the question better Good luck
    - Mike

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    haha!!, sorry about that. Ok I uploaded the page online just for this purpose. This is the temporary link at the moment:

    On this one you cannot see the credit link due to the frame and I haven't added any pages in the frame below. I'd like to have the credit link with in the bottom or in a static third frame at the bottom instead to make up for the one on top.
    http://www.fantasyerotica.net/ccswebsite/frontpage.html

    The top menu alone without frames is this:
    http://www.fantasyerotica.net/ccswebsite/topmenu.html
    Last edited by Intelectual Homer; 08-07-2006 at 08:28 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    just north of Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,806
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 72 Times in 72 Posts

    Default

    I can see what you are saying... but you do not have to have the link on your page to be okay in regards to copyright policy... as long as you have a reference in the source then that is enough to be within copyright laws...

    However, if you really would like to keep that link, couldn't you just add it to your top menu, in the link section? maybe with the heading.... menu credits?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    882
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    pissa: For this script the link is required. See the link the OP originally gave.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Oh yes, I understand that I don't have to have it every where as long as is present where the actual menu code is, but since the terms of use says it has to be VISIBLE on EVERY page where the menu is used I wasn't sure.

    So you are saying I can use the frame over it as long as I include a direct link giving credit even if is not with in the same page and visible?

    mhh... are you sure? I don't want lawyers sending notices to the people I'm building this website for.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    just north of Boston, MA
    Posts
    1,806
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 72 Times in 72 Posts

    Default

    well why don't you put the menu script in an external file then use

    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript" src="URL.js"></script>
    in the <head> section of every page you have the navigation on... then you only need to use the reference once, and you will be in the compliance with copyright law

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    an external file huh?... I see what you mean, Is been for ever since I designed a website so this things don't click right away in my head as they used to, I think I can make it work so that way I won't have to do all that risky and messy linkage, thanks!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    882
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    An external file does not meet the terms of use. The page(http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...menu/index.htm) says that. You may use an external file. but you must also include the link.The page says it is a commercial script,so you may be able to pay someone to get rid of that link

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Ok then why not do this instead, keep the two horizontal frames, but only the banner will go on top, right on the begining of the second frame the complete script menu, then the website's content, and finally at the bottom along with the credit and copyright, the credits link, all in all pages that use the menu...

    ...or what the hell, I'll just buy the damn licence and add the cost of the menu program to my client's final cost amount.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •