Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 75

Thread: [DHTML] Slashdot's Menu

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    182
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts

    Default Slashdot's Menu update

    Okay, I've updated the menu and fixed some bugs:
    • if browser isn't Opera, MSIE or Firefox then bypixels remained undefined (browser detection removed)
    • if cookie is null the contractall_default is also checked.
    • cookie path added
    • images directory variable added
    • removed text cursor when hovering above the title
    • ...

    ZIP file: Download
    Demo: Link
    Last edited by DimX; 08-18-2006 at 09:48 AM.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Browser problems

    This works great now!
    But.... still having one small browser problem; works on Safari, firefox for PC and MAC, MSIE for PC, but NOT on MSIE on a MAC.

    Do any of you know how I can rectify this?

    Am pretty new to this so please let me know exactly where the neccesary code goes, and what it does.

    thanks.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default multiple bars in the same page

    I want to use your script in 2 columns and i have some problems with that

    I modify the variables in a new .js but if you click one of the sides menu for example item number 4 in the right comun the item number 4 in the left column also expands or contracts
    can u help me with that? I want to use your code

    thanks a lot
    Last edited by silverccrow; 09-28-2006 at 03:49 AM.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hey guys! I love this script i have one question how can i make it 100% load default uncollapsed? I reason i ask is even with:
    var remember = false;
    var contractall_default= true;

    When my page loads for a split seconds they are all collapsed ( i have about 50 items in it so it screws up my site for a few seconds)... Anyways i know this must be possible, just look at Digg... Anyways anyone have any suggestions? Thanks

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Also does anyone know how to make it so when ur hovering over the main categorie to expand it, it is a hand, not a typing cursor on the mouse thing?

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    182
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts

    Default

    Download the new version (this thread, post #31) and you'll get the hand cursor.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Menu forces page size in Firefox only

    In Firefox, My menu forces the page size of the front page of my site to add extra white space, as if it was allowing enough room for a fully expanded menu, even though the menu contracts by default.
    oddly, as soon as I resize the browser window, this problem is corrected. I've no idea how to remedy this.
    here's the link to the site i'm talking about:
    www.playtoyshops.com
    obviously you'll need to view in Firefox (MAC or PC) to see the problem. scroll down to see all the white space added (the final logo should sit just under the banner)

    can anyone help with this?
    Nick

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Thanks!

    Quote Originally Posted by marklbishop
    Actually it seems to me that to turn persistence off goes against the idea of wanting the menu to follow the user.

    How about this...

    Code:
    function restore() {
        if(getcookie("menu") != null) {
            var hidden = getcookie("menu").split(",");
            for(var i in hidden) {
                titles[hidden[i]].className = "titlehidden";
                submenus[hidden[i]].style.height = "0px";
                submenus[hidden[i]].style.display = "none";
                arrows[hidden[i]].src = "media/collapsed.gif";
            }
        }
    	else if (contractall_default) //DD added code
    			slash_contractall() //DD added code
    }
    Put the slash_contractall into the restore function. That way if the Menu cookie is null, it contracts the menu. If the Menu cookie is not null, it leaves persistance as it is.

    Thoughts? This seems to work for me.


    Thanks for this, I had the same problem and it's fixed. Good show.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thank for the nav, it's cool but I have a quick question.

    Is it possible to have a link chosen by a user to be marked with the some background color on the chosen page?

    Thanks a lot for any help.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    182
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts

    Default

    Okay, here's an update, I added a mark_current variable, which, if set to true, marks current page-link in the menu (look into css for customization).

    ZIP file: Download
    Demo: Link

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •