Advanced Search

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Ultimate fade in slide show???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Ultimate fade in slide show???

    Firstly I'd just like to say hi to all, and that this site is a great resource for students such as myself...

    Recently I've been making a page for students where some photos are be displayed... I have about 15 and they all display fine and well when I preview the page in DreamweaverMX but when I upload it to the internet they don't seem to display and all I get is the little red cross etc...

    Has anyone encountered this error before??

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,154
    Thanks
    261
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    You are likely using absolute links... to your hard drive. When its on the internet, obviously the link to your harddrive won't work.
    Just make the links relative...

    Instead of:
    file:///c://folder/whatever/image.jpg
    just use:
    image.jpg

    Assuming that you have the webpage and the image in the same folder on both your harddrive and ftp of the website.


    Or, you simply didn't upload the images.

    A link to your page would be helpful if these suggestions don't explain it.
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| español | Deutsch | italiano | português | català | un peu de français | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    indeed.. I suffered that problem when frst using dreamweaver except I believe my links are in order...

    http://www.windarooss.eq.edu.au/AboutUs.html This is the link to where it is not working on the net...

    </script>
    <script type="text/javascript">
    /***********************************************
    * Ultimate Fade-In Slideshow (v1.5): © Dynamic Drive (http://www.dynamicdrive.com)
    * This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
    * Visit http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for this script and 100s more.
    ***********************************************/

    var fadeimages=new Array()
    //SET IMAGE PATHS. Extend or contract array as needed
    fadeimages[0]=["SlideShow/slide_1.jpg", "", ""] //plain image syntax
    fadeimages[1]=["SlideShow/slide_2.jpg", "", ""] //image with link syntax
    fadeimages[2]=["SlideShow/slide_3.jpg", "", ""] //image with link and target syntax
    fadeimages[3]=["SlideShow/slide_4.jpg", "", ""]
    fadeimages[4]=["SlideShow/slide_5.jpg", "", ""]
    fadeimages[5]=["SlideShow/slide_6.jpg", "", ""]
    fadeimages[6]=["SlideShow/slide_7.jpg", "", ""]
    fadeimages[7]=["SlideShow/slide_8.jpg", "", ""]
    fadeimages[8]=["SlideShow/slide_9.jpg", "", ""]
    fadeimages[9]=["SlideShow/slide_10.jpg", "", ""]
    fadeimages[10]=["SlideShow/slide_11.jpg", "", ""]
    fadeimages[11]=["SlideShow/slide_UndercoverWide.jpg", "", ""]
    fadeimages[12]=["SlideShow/slide_13.jpg", "", ""]
    fadeimages[13]=["SlideShow/slide_14.jpg", "", ""]
    fadeimages[14]=["SlideShow/slide_15.jpg", "", ""]
    fadeimages[15]=["SlideShow/slide_16.jpg", "", ""]
    fadeimages[16]=["SlideShow/slide_12.jpg", "", ""]


    var fadebgcolor="white"

    ////NO need to edit beyond here/////////////

    and that is my code, hmmm... it is probably some small thing garr.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,154
    Thanks
    261
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    The images don't exist.

    http://www.windarooss.eq.edu.au/SlideShow/slide_1.jpg

    ...doesn't load.

    Accrording to how you set it up, they should be there.

    Find where they are and link to there, OR move the images to there.
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| español | Deutsch | italiano | português | català | un peu de français | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    hmmm... strange... I load dreamweaver, select the files and upload them, I will have a look and get back to you. the rest of the site loaded up. and in my remote view it says they are there... I will have a look around, thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    it is strange... i used the transfer function in dreamweaver to put the site on the server, everything shows up fine except for the slide show and when i try to preview images on the remote server they don't show up, as if they are not there???

    anybody.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •