PDA

View Full Version : Problem with Ultimate Fade-in Slide Show



Macro Monkey
05-27-2006, 01:20 AM
I am referring to the script at http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/fadeinslideshow.htm.

I am currently using Jim's DHTML menu v1.57. and the slide show appears to be incompatible with this script using IE 6.0. With the two scripts running together the slide-show loses the "fade" effect and its border. I have posted a sample page at http://www.nectaroflife.com/testII/slidetestIII.html. In FireFox it looks fine.

I have posted the slide-show without Jim's menu at http://www.nectaroflife.com/testII/slidetestII.html. One thing to note. Although everything looks fine in FireFox it does list unrecognized filter errors in the JavaScript toolbox.

You can see all the config. files at http://www.nectaroflife.com/testII/.

I would love to be able to use the slide-show on my site with Jim's Menu. Anyhelp you guys can give would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Macro-Monkey
http://www.nectaroflife.com

jscheuer1
05-27-2006, 06:49 AM
Apparently, the menu script has co-opted the variable 'dom' for its own use and defines it differently than the slide show script does. Try this, find all instances of:

dom

in the slide show script and change them to:

dom2

Make sure to only change the dom's used as variables. That will take care of it. About those errors in FF about filter, they don't matter but could be fixed. FF doesn't recognise filter and doesn't require it so 'declaration dropped' is appropriate and harms nothing. Let's not worry about that for now.

jscheuer1
05-27-2006, 07:04 AM
Just to be clear about the above, there are seven 'doms' to change, this one:


var dom=(document.getElementById) //modern dom browsers

and three sets like so:


(iebrowser&&dom||dom)

Macro Monkey
05-27-2006, 04:30 PM
That worked, thanks.

I have a couple more questions perhaps you can answer.

1) How to place an ALT IMG, or Title for the pictures in the slide-show upon hover?

2) Using Jim's Menu on a secure site SSL causes IE to give a prompt for whether or not to show non-secure items. I'm not currently using the menu on secure portions of my site because of this. I tried declaring absolute secure paths for everything related to the script, but it didn't help. The warning only happens in IE. I posted a help question in this forum in the past to no avail.

Once again thanks for your help!

jscheuer1
05-27-2006, 06:08 PM
Adding alt or title was covered here:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showpost.php?p=34957&postcount=6

If you want a tool tip (title), change this from that post:


alt="'+this.theimages[picindex][3]+'" title=""

to:


alt="'+this.theimages[picindex][3]+'" title="'+this.theimages[picindex][3]+'"

As for the security problem. I don't know much about that. There are many files included with the menu if I am not mistaken. I would think that if they were all (including images, if any) in secure directories, that might do it. You might check with the author. Also (if you haven't already) make absolutely sure it is the menu and only the menu that causes this. You might want to search the MS Knowledge Base as well.