PDA

View Full Version : Get the Last modified date of an external text file?

KegExpress
05-08-2006, 11:54 PM
Hi there all,

I'm new to JavaScript, so excuse me if this is in the "gosh that's so simple" area.

I was wondering if there was a simple JS function to get the last modified date of an external text file. I've tried the "document.lastmodified" function, but (obviously) this returns the current web pages' date.

Its just for a simple price list/data table page that will look for the newly uploaded "prices.txt" and use that as a "Prices correct as at: 08/05/06" type of thing.

all the best,

Tony L.

otaku
05-09-2006, 12:41 AM
document.lastmodified will work only with the current document. For external text file my suggestion is to use server side script instead.

Here is an example on how to do it using ASP.Net:

Dim strLastModified As String
strLastModified = System.IO.File.GetLastWriteTime(Server.MapPath("prices.txt")).ToString("D")
lblMsg.Text = "Prices correct as at: " & LastModified

djr33
05-09-2006, 01:05 AM
Otaku is right.

That's a server side thing... you can't do stuff on the server client side. Kinda the point, sadly.

However, i'd look into PHP before ASP. Your choice though.

KegExpress
05-09-2006, 01:24 AM
Ah Dang,

I wanted the "Quick-And-Dirty" answer, seems a bit OTT to have to learn yet another programing language :D

thanks of the help anyway,

Tony L.

PS: a QAD answer, after looking for a few days for it - now that's optomism!! lol

djr33
05-09-2006, 01:53 AM
The only chance is if the file stores that data in a place you can access it. Might work... dunno. :)

Twey
05-09-2006, 09:40 AM
I wanted the "Quick-And-Dirty" answer, seems a bit OTT to have to learn yet another programing languageFor just that one task, maybe, but a server-side language will serve you admirably in the future.

otaku
05-09-2006, 12:14 PM
However, i'd look into PHP before ASP. Your choice though.
I strongly recommend ASP.Net.