PDA

View Full Version : Advanced RSS Ticker - Stuck on "Initializing ticker"



unifem
05-04-2006, 09:37 PM
Advanced RSS Ticker
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/rsstickerajax/

=====

Thank you in advance for your help.

I just installed the Advanced RSS Ticker on the UNIFEM website. However, the ticker gets stuck on "Initializing ticker," and the items in the RSS file do not get displayed.

Ticker is here (in the beige box):
http://www.unifem.org/index_30th.php
You'll notice that the spot where the timeline item is supposed to appear, there's a message that reads "Initializing ticker."

Source RSS file:
http://www.unifem.org/feeds/unifem_timeline.xml

The demo seems to work just fine:
http://www.unifem.org/lib/rsstickerajax/demo.htm

And so does bridge.php:
http://www.unifem.org/lib/rsstickerajax/lastrss/bridge.php?id=UNIFEMtimeline

Any idea why it doesn't work on the index_30th.php page?

Thanks for your assistance.

--
Web Manager
UNIFEM

ddadmin
05-06-2006, 06:32 AM
From what I can tell, the problem is because on the problem page, you're actually calling a non existent RSS feed. The code:


new rssticker_ajax("utl", 1200, "tlbox", "tlstyle", 3500, "date+description");

on http://www.unifem.org/index_30th.php tells the script to call:

http://www.unifem.org/lib/rsstickerajax/lastrss/bridge.php?id=utl

which as you can see, doesn't exist. I gather what you want is:


new rssticker_ajax("UNIFEMtimeline", 1200, "tlbox", "tlstyle", 3500, "date+description");

nedabell
05-08-2006, 11:31 AM
There is another slight problem with the ticker script. It relies on each item having both the <title> and <link> present in the feed. The "initialising ticker" message appears if, say, the link is empty - and links arn't always required in a news feed.
Otherwise a very good and useful script. Many thanks.

kowyzg0moo
10-08-2006, 04:42 AM
I actually have the same problem with the website I'm making for my non-profit organization. I've been running through the code and I just can't figure out why it won't move on from "Initializing ticker..." on the site. On my homepage, it doesn't load. Help!

Script: Advanced RSS Ticker
My Site: http://www.ahsleoclub.org/test/ (http://www.ahsleoclub.org/test/home.htm)
rssticker.js: http://ahsleoclub.org/test/rssticker.js
bridge.php: http://ahsleoclub.org/test/lastrss/bridge.php
lastrss.php: http://ahsleoclub.org/test/lastrss/lastRSS.php

Thanks in advanced.

kowyzg0moo
10-16-2006, 01:25 AM
okay I'm still looking for help on this situation. Anyone out there who can help?

ddadmin
10-16-2006, 01:40 AM
Hi Kowy:
Your test URL http://www.ahsleoclub.org/test/ returns a page not found. Anyhow, please start a new thread when asking a question, instead of replying to someone else's. It just makes it easier on everyone viewing the forums.