PDA

View Full Version : Drop Down Menu help needed.

mark200
04-20-2006, 01:09 PM
Hey,
I am designing a website for my school as part of my "mini-company". I had a really good drop down navagation bar, except I realised two days ago that it wasn't compatible with firefox. So I decided I had to find a new one. I got this (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/dropmenuindex.htm) from dynamic drive, but I'm having a small problem with it.

When you click on one of the links that also has a drop down menu, the page doesnt go to that link, just the menu drops down.

This (http://www.webtechdublin.com/pcs/) is the site i'm doing. The new navagation bar is on the first page only. For example, when you click on "about the school", the link doesnt work. I'm new to webdesign so I don't know a lot.

Please help me,
Mark

jscheuer1
04-20-2006, 03:12 PM
That is the intended function for the menu. The idea is that for javascript enabled browsers, the drop downs will contain all the links required for the header link topic and that in non-javascript browsers (where there can be no drop downs for this menu) the header link will take the user to alternative equivalent content.

It doesn't have to be this way. Here is your "About the School" link:

<a href="history.html" onClick="return clickreturnvalue()" onMouseover="dropdownmenu(this, event, menu1, '150px')" onMouseout="delayhidemenu()" class="menutext">&nbsp;About the School&nbsp;</a>

Removing the red part will make it an active link in javascript enabled browsers as well as in non-javascript enabled ones.

mark200
04-20-2006, 04:07 PM
That's working. Thanks very much for your help.
Mark

mark200
04-20-2006, 04:13 PM
Sorry, one more question if you don't mind. How do you get rid of the space above and below the text on the man links, so that the the "|" reaches right up to the white line above it. I know it's a stupid question, but I've been looking at the script for ages.

jscheuer1
04-20-2006, 05:41 PM