PDA

View Full Version : String format



gugu
04-20-2006, 11:37 AM
Hi I would like to format a textbox string to display a set of charecters rather than the actual text, how can I achieve that?

djr33
04-20-2006, 12:19 PM
huh?
gotta explain more.

you want to mask what someone is typing? you want to have it start with a value? you want???

gugu
04-20-2006, 12:22 PM
huh?
gotta explain more.

you want to mask what someone is typing? you want to have it start with a value? you want???

Yes! there you got it, it must start with a value

djr33
04-20-2006, 12:39 PM
value="whoa, I'm controlling what it says at the start1!!!!1111"

Like this:
<input type="text" value="TEXT">

random note: for text areas, it works slightly differently:
<textarea>TEXT HERE</textarea>


For both, it'll be there... the user can modify/delete/keep as is.


There are some fancy ways in JS to make it just show up first (like "password") then dissapear after you click in it, but I don't know those, and doesn't seem needed... look them up if you want though.

Twey
04-20-2006, 04:12 PM
I think you're missing the point.
By far the best way to do this is <input type="password">. Using Javascript to show other characters is possibly, but not at all recommended.

djr33
04-20-2006, 08:30 PM
Yeah, that will mask the text you're typing. I'm still very unsure of what your asking...

gugu
04-25-2006, 05:47 AM
what I am asking is, I am editing a record set from the database, and the form that displays that record, one of the fields is for displaying a password, and when I change the TextMode property of that field to password, it does not display anything in that field.

Try to drop a text field on the ASP form and make the Text property of that field to anything, and change the textmode to password then run the application to see.

djr33
04-25-2006, 07:51 AM
Totally didn't follow that. Maybe Twey will, or you can rephrase.

Questions:
1. Why?
2. What?
3. Can using password fields work?

I'm still quite unclear on what your question actually is.

Twey
04-25-2006, 09:30 AM
What's this "TextMode" property? An ASP form is (or should be) exactly the same as a normal HTML form.

djr33
04-25-2006, 07:18 PM
Yeah, I'm lost.