PDA

View Full Version : Help with the Select ( and copy ) form element script



mitsuhime
04-17-2006, 06:40 PM
Script: Select ( and copy ) form element script
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex11/selectform.htm

I'm just beginning to use HTML, and I'm making a layout for my sister's website, but when I put in the Select (and copy) script to show what code they should build off of, <!-- --><script type="text/javascript" src="/i.js"></script> would always show up before </BODY> What can I do to get rid of that?

Twey
04-17-2006, 07:06 PM
Insert the script properly. I can't be more specific without seeing the code.
Also, make sure to include the credit notice. When including an external script, you still need to put the credit notice between the <script></script> tags.

jscheuer1
04-17-2006, 07:13 PM
What do you mean where it is showing up? Do you mean in the source code or on the page when viewed in the browser? If in the source code and you didn't put it there, use a text editor to insert the script and then don't load the page into your HTML editor ever again. If your HTML editor is Front Page, consider the remarks I will paste at the end of this post. If it is only showing up in the browser when you view your page, it may be a simple syntax error but, I would need a link to your page to advise you on how to correct that.

Pasted Remarks:

Well, you might be able to configure FP so as to allow you to insert code like this without it mangling it so much. Read the manual or Google for help on that. Another alternative, and what I recommend in all cases like this, is to get your page looking like you want using FP but without any scripts. Save a copy of that somewhere to work on later if the need arises. Next open the page in notepad or simple text and add the scripts in according to the installation instructions, including any customization you've added. Never load this version of the page into FP ever again. To preview it locally, use the browser. To upload it, use FTP (preferred) or your host's online uploading tool.

Here is another solution I ran across* but, since I do not use FP, I haven't tested it:

In a text editor open the page whose code you wish to preserve.

At the beginning of the section of code you wish to prevent FrontPage from modifying, add the following line of code:


<!--webbot bot="HTMLMarkup" startspan -->

At the end of the code section, add the following line of code:


<!--webbot bot="HTMLMarkup" endspan -->

Save the changes to the file. The next time the file is opened in FrontPage, FrontPage will not attempt to alter the code between the two HTMLMarkup tags.

*Posted in these forums by usace-lrc and perhaps others.