PDA

View Full Version : using ms frontpage2002 - adding script



joyfulrc
04-12-2006, 05:23 PM
I'm having a hard time adding script to my website.

any help would be appreciated

Thanks
Rhonda

jscheuer1
04-13-2006, 02:28 AM
Well, you might be able to configure FP so as to allow you to insert code like this without it mangling it so much. Read the manual or Google for help on that. Another alternative, and what I recommend in all cases like this, is to get your page looking like you want using FP but without any scripts. Save a copy of that somewhere to work on later if the need arises. Next open the page in notepad or simple text and add the scripts in according to the installation instructions, including any customization you've added. Never load this version of the page into FP ever again. To preview it locally, use the browser. To upload it, use FTP (preferred) or your host's online uploading tool.

Here is another solution I ran across* but, since I do not use FP, I haven't tested it:

In a text editor open the page whose code you wish to preserve.

At the beginning of the section of code you wish to prevent FrontPage from modifying, add the following line of code:


<!--webbot bot="HTMLMarkup" startspan -->

At the end of the code section, add the following line of code:


<!--webbot bot="HTMLMarkup" endspan -->

Save the changes to the file. The next time the file is opened in FrontPage, FrontPage will not attempt to alter the code between the two HTMLMarkup tags.

*Posted in these forums by usace-lrc and perhaps others.

joyfulrc
04-13-2006, 05:44 PM
Thanks,

I'll try the later first.

sleipner
04-13-2006, 05:55 PM
first, which script(s) are you using, with link(s) to it/them, and second, maybe even a link to your site so we can see how you wanna use em