PDA

View Full Version : PHP Beginner Help

Andrelus
03-30-2006, 04:04 PM
I am designing a website where I would like values and an image in a form to be transfered from one page to another. I have a very, very loose understanding of how to accomplish this. Can someone help me to polish this process. Thank You.

.alias.
03-30-2006, 04:23 PM
i think this will help you but im new to PHP as well so it might not :p

page 1:

<?
session_start();
$ok = "hello";
$_SESSION['hello'] = $ok;
?>

page 2:

<?
session_start();
echo $_SESSION['hello'];
?>

djr33
04-03-2006, 09:16 AM
On the second page, you use the function session_start() again. Do you want to restart it? Or is this just for each page to know about the session....?
Like.... does that mean start a new session or just start it for that particular page.

Twey
04-03-2006, 11:26 AM
No, you need to call session_start() on every page on which you want the session to continue. Because it modifies the headers, you must call it before you output any HTML.

djr33
04-03-2006, 08:35 PM
Thanks, Twey.

Andrelus, not trying to deroute your thread; seems like you've got it started, and I'd think it better to keep discussing this here than start a new one.

So... sessions last for how long? Do they end when:
1. the user closes the window?
2. the time expires?
3. refresh is hit?
I'm guessing... probably some are right, others not. More?

Twey
04-03-2006, 08:44 PM
Sessions always expire when their expiry date is hit. As well as that, they can be lost when the user navigates to a page without session_start() called on it (if not using cookies) or when the cookie is deleted.

djr33
04-03-2006, 10:53 PM
cookies and session_start() aren't at all interchangable, though, right? I mean, you could use them together, but you can't just assume the cookie will hold the session or the session vars will hold the data of the cookie, right?

And... the expiry date.... how does one control this?

Twey
04-03-2006, 11:10 PM