PDA

View Full Version : checkbox that generate text

gavinv3
03-23-2006, 12:37 PM
Hi Guys,
This is my first time on the site .:p
I need some help with regards to a small tool which I want to create to help my friend generate notes automatically.

" Its a page with check boxes along with the discription besides it - for example - - ' checkbox and the following text besides it like 'Powercycle' '

Below the check box there is a 'Generate' button
Below the generate button is a text field

Now, what should happen is that - if I check the box and click the generate button then the text for eg. 'I have powercycled the modem ' should appear in the text field

The text 'I have powercycled the modem ' should not appear on the page - should be embedded somewhere in the script

I also would like to know a script that will copy all the text in the text field with a single button below the textfield

There will be multiple check boxes - so that before I click on the generate I can uncheck the options whose text I dont want to include in the textfield.

I would be more then gratefull if someone at the Dynamic Forums could help me with this

-- I will insert an image sometime today evening to depict what I am actually reffering to.

Warm Regards,
Gavin :D

johnnyi
03-23-2006, 12:49 PM
Howdy,

What is your desired outcome if more than one checkbox is selected... Do you want all checked messages to appear - and if so, what type of break between (i.e. comma, carriage return), or do you want only one checkbox to be selected?

- I

gavinv3
03-25-2006, 02:47 AM
Wow !!!

Hi Johnnyi,
Thanks for taking interest in my query, never expected a reply so fast.

- I am creating an html page with plenty of check boxes - one below the other (As shown in the image).
- I do technical troubleshooting over the phone - so it gets difficult to type while talking.

- Reason for creating this is to complete documentation faster without having to type while on the call.