PDA

View Full Version : Newbie in a jam



TitanJeff
03-22-2006, 08:45 PM
I'm using a nice dropdown menu on a site which worked perfectly until the client decided to add one more menu option. Now, it throws one of the options down and I want all five selections on one line.

I've played around with the code and just can't seem to get it to work without the background expanding to the right.

Can anyone help a newbie out? Thanks.

The page is http://www.mmeducators.org/mmetest.html

jscheuer1
03-22-2006, 09:04 PM
This in your style section will fix it in FF and IE6 and Opera:


#chromemenu{
position:absolute;
width:400px;
}

But, the table should really be redesigned to allow for the extra width in the cell containing the chromemenu division.

TitanJeff
03-22-2006, 09:07 PM
That did it. Thanks for the help.

jscheuer1
03-22-2006, 09:10 PM
Wherever you have your style, looks like in the file:


<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="chrometheme/chromestyle2.css" />

or (as an absolute link):

http://www.mmeducators.org/chrometheme/chromestyle2.css

TitanJeff
03-22-2006, 09:12 PM
Excellent. My thanks again!

Strangeplant
03-23-2006, 01:21 PM
When I go to the test page, the quicktime animation hides almost all of the drop down menu tabs, so the selection cannot be made. (This is in FF, and I assume NS too.) I've seen this before and also on several sites. I worked around it by moving the animation, but would like to know how to fix this for the next time, which will be soon.

TitanJeff
03-23-2006, 02:32 PM
This was a big issue for me when I designed that page. The menu would open behind it and it took me quite a while to figure it out. I was able to add a tag to the flash file so that it would stay behind and the menu work properly.

I've tested the site with IE and FF for mac and pc. I was unaware the problem existed now. What version of FF are you using?

Anyone else have this problem?