PDA

View Full Version : Local Time Script & Frontpage

kp130000
03-19-2006, 01:39 AM
Local Time Script
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex6/localtime.htm

Hi everyone, I have been pulling my hair out over this one. I followed the directions on the site, but I don't comprehend everything. I am still a beginner.

I made a simple page, but all that would show is
"Current Server Time:NaN:NaN:NaN AM (undefined)"

I am not sure what the problem is. I think it is either:
1. frontpage 2003 is giving me problems
2. my page might be 100% html, so my page is not configured to display things properly.
3. my server is not set up correctly

note: I am using IX web hosting on their expert plan and I have SSI, PHP and frontpage extensions on.

Here is the actual page:
http://kietphan.com/localtime_test_page.htm

Please save me from going balder. Any suggestions?

jscheuer1
03-19-2006, 05:34 AM
From what I can tell, your page is correct. A fine point, the title should go before the script, shouldn't make any practical difference but is good valid form and practice. The trouble is that since you are using the php method, your page's extension needs to be .php not .htm:

From the Demo Page:

Description: Want to display the current local time of a specific place in the world? This DHTML script, with the help of either PHP, ASP, or SSI (server side includes), displays the current server time your site is hosted on, and in turn, the local time of anywhere on Earth. You can use it to show visitors your current local time, or the time in New York, Tokyo etc. Now, in order to use this script, the webpage you're adding it to must be either PHP (ie: .php), ASP, or SSI (ie: .shtml) enabled. More on this below.

kp130000
03-19-2006, 09:21 AM
Hi jscheuer1,

I tried the changes you suggested. I changed the file extension to .php and even moved the title above the script. However, it still doesn't work.

In IE, nothing displays.
In Firefox, just a bunch of garbage.

What to do?