PDA

View Full Version : redirecting to new frames webpages

suehue
03-04-2006, 03:54 PM
I know the answer to this is simple, and I may be using the wrong term for what I want to do. I redid a web page and put it in frames (don't ask me why) and now the people who had created a shortcut to a page (such as the monthly calendar) still get that page sans the top and side menu. Is there a way to have them go to the frames page if they use one of these links they already have??

example, the site is www.saintjohnlutheran.net but people have www.saintjohnlutheran.net/1_calendar.html as a shortcut and only get that page.

Sigh, I am glad I do not do this for a living. Too intense.

Thanks in advance for any input - Susan

jscheuer1
03-04-2006, 04:29 PM
I don't think that is so simple, breaking your page out of frames is easy enough but, putting it into one if it is not already there is quite another matter. You can easily detect if the page isn't in the frameset but, unless you have a separate frameset for each 'orphan' page that you can redirect to, you need a way to tell the one frameset that you do have to load in that particular 'orphan' page. Another approach would be to use the frame detection method to provide a link back to home:

<script type="text/javascript">
if (top.location == location)
document.write('<a href="http://www.saintjohnlutheran.net/">Home</a>')
</script>

Put this someplace in the body of each of your pages that might appear outside of the frame. Put it someplace where the user will see it and click on it if they want to continue with the site. It will only write the link if the page appears out of the frame.

suehue
03-04-2006, 04:56 PM
John,

Thank you for the quick response. I will try your "home" idea, I think it will work. Some of the people who use the site are not so computer savvy, but would click on a "home" link if confronted with no menu for further navigation.

Again, thank you. Susan

jscheuer1
03-04-2006, 06:09 PM