PDA

View Full Version : Help with Featured Content Slider



Riokei
11-15-2016, 02:24 PM
1) Script Title: Featured Content Slider

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/featuredcontentslider.htm

3) Describe problem: I have a Zetaboards forum which I'm making a custom homepage for, its overall pretty simple but made a bit more...interesting by the slider code. However I have an issue that arises on my testboard you can view the wip page here: http://s15.zetaboards.com/LFTest/pages/test1/

Two issues actually:

1). When someone hovers over the menu and it goes over the slider (well actually under) you can't click the buttons as the slider seems to override the menu. - This is the main issue I need resolved as all users are affected by it. (Here's a screeshot: http://prnt.sc/d6u5ax)
2). I have one mac user for whom the slider doesn't work whatsoever and I can't reproduce the bug nor can any of my other members. Link for screenshot he provided. (https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/169269215998509057/247280165846122497/Screen_Shot_2016-11-13_at_7.42.37_PM.png)

jscheuer1
11-15-2016, 04:34 PM
One solution (for the first problem, I have no Mac to test on for the second) -

Give the selector (css.css around line 1790):


#ddmenu ul

a z-index value of 1000

and the selector (css.css around line 1792):


#ddmenu ul li, #ddmenu ul a

a background color.

About the Mac issue though, can you get the OS and browser used?

Riokei
11-15-2016, 05:42 PM
Thanks that fixed it! I know he checked Safari and Chrome, I'll edit this with his OS later I'm not sure which version of OSX he has and I can't contact him right now as he's in a different time zone. (Or I could have him reply to this that might be better.)

Kequo
11-15-2016, 08:10 PM
Hello,

I'm the Mac/OSX user Riokei asked to reply to this thread.
Currently using OS X El Capitan, Version 10.11.6 on a Macbook Pro (Retina, 13-inch).

jscheuer1
11-16-2016, 12:58 PM
OK, thanks Kequo. I assume from a bit of Googling that's all up to date. And if you're having this problem in Chrome as well as Safari as indicated by Riokei, and have those browsers set to auto update, or you keep them updated, they're also up to date, so that's not likely an issue (old software or old OS).

@Riokei - I've taken a closer look at the generated markup for the page, I'm assuming you're using some sort of server side language like PHP to manage content via includes or some similar approach. In any event the markup as served to the browser is invalid - that is does not adhere to the W3C standards. Now browsers will error correct for that as best they can, but the results aren't always uniform across platforms or browsers. The most striking validation errors are no Content-Type meta tag setting the encoding for the page (if the server sends this information as an http header, this is not an issue) - this should appear close to the beginning of the head section so that the browser doesn't have to parse the document twice to determine the character encoding used, and the fact that the markup has two heads and two bodies. Only one of each is allowed per page. When you are pulling content from one page into another page, if the page receiving the content already has a head or body tag, the imported content should be a document fragment without that tag. Similarly if two or more pages are imported to a page that doesn't yet have a head or body tag, only one of the imported bits of content can introduce a head and only one can introduce a body. None of this may be essential to the issue at hand, but the further one's served markup deviates from standards, the more likely some sort of rendering and/or operational issues will occur. If you're not familiar with validating markup, you should look into the topic at least. You can check your page for errors by entering it's url here:

https://validator.w3.org

@Kequo - As you may or may not have noticed (depending if you've read this whole thread or not), I don't have similar hardware/OS to test this issue with, so you can do us a favor by checking the demo page of the script:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/featuredcontentslider.htm

Scroll the page until you see the demo sliders. Verify whether or not those work for you and let us know.

For both of you folks - if the Dynamic Drive demo page checks out for Kequo, then obviously there's some sort of issue with the test page Riokei has setup. If the DD demo page for the script doesn't work for Kequo, then there's likely some issue with the script when run on his setup.

Kequo
11-17-2016, 01:50 AM
The page (demo sliders) looks fine to me, nothing is overlapping and I also have a screenshot if you would like to see it yourself.
Slider Demos: http://prnt.sc/d89d3v

Additional Info: Browser/s
Safari, Version 9.1.2 (11601.7.7).
Google Chrome:Version 54.0.2840.98 (64-bit)

Riokei
11-17-2016, 04:38 PM
Okay I'll run through and validate my page and see if I can resolve some errors, I'll let you know if that fixed it!

jscheuer1
11-18-2016, 03:30 AM
There also might be some errors like missing content (scripts, images, etc.) and/or errors arising from newer software that no longer accepts an older approach. I saw a warning in the console about deprecated use of an insecure socket. That's using http when https is recommended. Deprecated means it's still supported, but likely to be phased out. The newer software or OS might have dropped support altogether. If that's the problem, you can either stop trying to do whatever that is, or use a secure socket for the page. But get the page validated, and if that hasn't fixed it, I will look further into what console errors/warnings might remain.

Riokei
11-19-2016, 07:29 PM
Thanks for all the help! Not sure which one but something on the validation page appears to have cleared up Kequo's error.