PDA

View Full Version : Transparent Menu Option?



mjolnir24
03-01-2006, 10:15 PM
I'm using Script: Jim's DHTML Menu v5.7
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/jimmenu/

I was wondering if the background drop down menu options could be transparent? If so how? I tried using a white transparent gif but it just showed up with a black background.

Thanks!!

Chris

Twey
03-01-2006, 10:34 PM
Setting the background colour to "transparent" should work.

jscheuer1
03-02-2006, 01:31 AM
Transparency of the menu items only reveals whatever colors are beneath it. There are, I believe, other colors configurable for this menu that will then appear (show through). Like, the border color, which (I think) isn't a true border but a background division. All colors that are underneath the menu items themselves must therefore be set to transparent. This will give rise to an odd looking menu though.

mjolnir24
03-03-2006, 02:41 PM
Tried the "transparent" and didn't work still black. Perhaps I should re-phrase my question a little. I wanted to add some opaqueness on the sub menu's like 50% etc.

jscheuer1
03-03-2006, 03:27 PM
I should have been more to the point. This menu is not that flexible, period. It uses background divisions and calls them borders so, true and or partial transparency cannot be achieved without sacrificing the 'borders'. This cannot be compensated for in any simple fashion as the author used a background division as a border for a reason, it is much more cross browser compatible. If you want that type of transparency, find a menu that specifically supports it.

Xiong Chiamiov
03-04-2006, 04:03 AM
I don't know how this would work, but if you could put the relevant information into div, you could do this:


<div id="transbox">
<div>
The Rebel Soldier
<br>

by Anonymous
</div>
</div>

and the css:


/*thanks to Ove Klykken for the transparency code[http://www.domedia.org/oveklykken/css-transparency.php]*/
/* This is the transparent box */
#transbox {
width: 300px;
margin: 0 50px;
background-color: #fff;
border: 2px solid black;
filter: alpha(opacity=60);
opacity: 0.6;
-moz-opacity: 0.6;
}
/* This is the container which set text to solid color. position: relative used for IE */
#transbox div {
padding: 20px;
font-weight: bold;
color: #000;
filter: alpha(opacity=100);
opacity: 1;
-moz-opacity: 1;
position: relative;
}
a:link {
color: black;
text-decoration: none;
}
a:visited {
color: black;
text-decoration: none;
}

Make sure to check that link for more on opacity.

jscheuer1
03-04-2006, 05:30 AM
Xiong, that is all well and good but it doesn't address the inherent limitation(s) of the menu. There is a background division that is used to create the appearance of a border and perhaps other backgrounds used for various other effects. If the menu items are transparent or partially opaque, this (these) background division(s) will show through.

Xiong Chiamiov
03-04-2006, 06:26 AM
K then. I wasn't sure if it would work, and obviously it won't.

TheJoshMan
03-04-2006, 08:47 AM
Hey, first off let me say that if any of the moderators consider this "advertising" then please remove it... I was just thinking that I could point you in the direction of a menu that does support transparency. The site that this menu is found on is also linked to by DynamicDrive... So I don't know if that helps at all... but it's http://www.youngpup.net Go to the site and look for the section about "TransMenus" It is a very sleek looking menu, although it has it's drawbacks... I would definately NOT recommend it to anyone who does not have a general understanding of JS, CSS, and DOM... as it incorporates aLOT of each. I have used this menu on 3 different occasions. It comes with a compressed version of the JS file and a "commented" version to help you along. Just thought I might pass a little info along to try to help. Good Luck!

jscheuer1
03-04-2006, 11:38 AM
Nyne Lyvez, no that isn't advertising as far as I can tell, and it is what I think the OP is looking for and what I said they should look for, not to mention, free.

http://www.youngpup.net/2004/transmenus

Did I mention free?

mjolnir24
03-06-2006, 05:05 PM
I appreciate everyone's input on this. I'm familiar with JS and CSS but not with DOM's. I'll give http://www.youngpup.net/2004/transmenus a try.

Thanks!