PDA

View Full Version : HV Menu Help



bigpund
02-27-2006, 09:52 PM
DD HV Menu Script
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/hvmenu/index.htm

Hi, I need help with editing the script. I have been able to figure everything out so far, but need to expand the width of the the columns so that all of the text will fit. You can view a screenshot of my problem here: www.radford.edu/~cpund/mark/screenshot.JPG

Please let me know! Thanks!!

jscheuer1
02-28-2006, 08:23 AM
From the configuration (exmplmenu_var.js) file's comments:


MenuX=new Array(Text to show, Link, background image (optional), number of sub elements, height, width);

The only tricky part might be having to set the width for the first (in your example image, the top) item in a given block for it to take effect.

bigpund
03-01-2006, 06:21 AM
Thanks for the help. Now I am having the problem of displaying more than just 5 different items. I need to show at least another 2 but can not get them to come up even though they are in the code. My code with the differnet menus looks like this:
Menu1=new Array("Home","index.html","",0,20,175);

Menu2=new Array("About","#","",2);
Menu2_1=new Array("About Me","about.html","",0,20,175);
Menu2_2=new Array("Resume","mark-jones-resume.pdf","",0);

Menu3=new Array("Academic Transcript","#","",3);
Menu3_1=new Array("Altavista","http://www.altavista.com","",0,20,175);
Menu3_2=new Array("Google","http://www.google.com","",0);
Menu3_3=new Array("Yahoo","http://www.yahoo.com","",0);

Menu4=new Array("Complted Courses","#","",4);
Menu4_1=new Array("Course 1","http://www.dynamicdrive.com","",0,20,175);
Menu4_2=new Array("Course 2","http://www.javascriptkit.com","",0);
Menu4_3=new Array("Course 3","http://www.freewarejava.com","",0);
Menu4_4=new Array("Course 4","http://www.webreview.com","",0);

Menu5=new Array("Completed Projects","javascript:top.location.href='#'","",1);
Menu5_1=new Array("Author\'s Site","http://www.burmees.nl/","",0,20,175);

Menu6=new Array("Student Involvement","#","",0,20,175);

Menu7=new Array("Awards/Achievments","#","",0,20,175);

How can I get the Menu6 and Menu7 to show up? You can view it at www.radford.edu/~cpund/mark/meu.html

Thanks.

jscheuer1
03-01-2006, 07:15 AM
Near the top of exmplmenu_var.js:


var NoOffFirstLineMenus=5;// Number of first level items

You must increase this number to 7, there could be other problems.

bigpund
03-02-2006, 05:21 AM
OK that worked nicely. Now I cant get the menu to be in the right area that it needs to be in: www.radford.edu/~cpund/mark/index.html you will notice the menu is on the right side when it needs to be inside of the table where the current links are.

Any ideas?

bigpund
03-03-2006, 01:01 AM
Anyone?

bigpund
03-06-2006, 05:34 PM
...bump