PDA

View Full Version : PHP Not Working When Inside a Javascript <script> Tag

Robert_B
04-25-2016, 09:39 PM
Hi. I'm brand new to PHP and am trying to see what it can do. I put a small page together that sort of looks like this:

<?php
echo '
-- some javascript code --
</script>
<script>
';
$file = fopen("Awards.csv","r");
$x = fgetcsv($file);
print_r ($x);
echo '
</script>
-- some more javascript code

-- some html code --
';
?>

Here's the thing. The PHP code only seems to work if I put it outside of the <script></script> tags. It's probably something I'm doing wrong, but all the reading I've done on PHP says it should work.

What I'm really trying to do is to get the contents of the file into a javascript array. That's probably something for a different thread.

If someone could tell me what I'm doing wrong and why the PHP code won't work, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks.

jscheuer1
04-25-2016, 10:35 PM
Works here. If I run it on a csv file then use the browser's "view source", this is what I see:

</script>
<script>
Array
(
[0] => Date
[1] => Time
[2] => Time Zone
[3] => Name
[4] => Type
[5] => Status
[6] => Gross
[7] => Fee
[8] => Net
[9] => Note
[10] => From Email Address
[11] => To Email Address
[12] => Transaction ID
[13] => Item Title
[14] => Item ID
[15] => Reference Txn ID
[16] => Receipt ID
[17] => Balance
[18] =>
)

</script>

-- some html code --

What were you expecting? Keep in mind that (just like with a regular HTML page) both the opening and closing tags and anything between the javascript <script></script> tags will not be seen unless one uses "view source". Also, your second -- some more javascript code is itself outside those tags, so couldn't really be script code. The 'code' at the top could be, but has no opening <script> tag we can see, so it might not really be javascript either, and without one, is not.

Robert_B
04-26-2016, 07:10 PM
I'm going to try this again.

Hi John.

That's exactly what I expect.