PDA

View Full Version : How to get image slider to stop after last image

klrman
02-21-2016, 07:17 AM
H, noob here :D

I am trying to get this image slider to stop after the last image is reached and still display that image so
that a user will have to hit the back button to move backwards again through the images until the first
one is reached again.

The way it works now, when the last image is reached, the next click forward moves the whole display upwards
with no image and I would rather it just can't move past the last image, except to move backwards again.

It is this dynamicdrive script http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/dhtmlslide.htm

jscheuer1
02-21-2016, 04:23 PM
NOTE: The link in the above post was not to any script. I assumed you meant the one from your other post, which was essentially a duplicate of this post, but in the wrong section. If you have another script in mind, let us know.

This is an old script. I see it uses hash tag links as controls. Those can make a page jump to the top, but since the onclick event returns false, that shouldn't, and in fact doesn't happen for me. Some browsers might think though, once you're at the end, the return value is determined by something else. What browser and device are you using? Have you changed anything? If it is the hash tag link that's causing this, you can get rid of those. Where it has:

<tr>
<td width="50%" height="21"><p align="left"><a href="#" onClick="backward();return false">Previous Slide</a></td>
<td width="50%" height="21"><p align="right"><a href="#" onClick="forward();return false">Next Slide</a></td>
</tr>

Change that to:

<tr>
<td width="50%" height="21"><p align="left"><span style="cursor: pointer; color: navy;" onclick="backward();">Previous Slide</span></td>
<td width="50%" height="21"><p align="right"><span style="cursor: pointer; color: navy;" onclick="forward();">Next Slide</span></td>
</tr>