PDA

View Full Version : Drop Down Menu Help



MrHicks
11-19-2004, 06:23 PM
Hi all,

I'm using "HV MENU5.5" http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/hvmenu/index.htm and it works great, except for one thing.

I have a drop down box containing a list of variables a user can select in the actual html file. The top menu drop down works fine, except when it tries to appear in front of the drop down box, it always appears behind it and obscures a menu option.

Is there any way to alter the script so the menus that drop down will appear over top of the drop down box?

Here are the settings:



var NoOffFirstLineMenus=5; // Number of first level items
var LowBgColor='3300CC'; // Background color when mouse is not over
var LowSubBgColor='1E90FF'; // Background color when mouse is not over on subs
var HighBgColor='1E90FF'; // Background color when mouse is over
var HighSubBgColor='gray'; // Background color when mouse is over on subs
var FontLowColor='white'; // Font color when mouse is not over
var FontSubLowColor='black'; // Font color subs when mouse is not over
var FontHighColor='white'; // Font color when mouse is over
var FontSubHighColor='white'; // Font color subs when mouse is over
var BorderColor='4169E1'; // Border color
var BorderSubColor='black'; // Border color for subs
var BorderWidth=1; // Border width
var BorderBtwnElmnts=1; // Border between elements 1 or 0
var FontFamily="arial,comic sans ms,technical" // Font family menu items
var FontSize=9; // Font size menu items
var FontBold=1; // Bold menu items 1 or 0
var FontItalic=0; // Italic menu items 1 or 0
var MenuTextCentered='left'; // Item text position 'left', 'center' or 'right'
var MenuCentered='left'; // Menu horizontal position 'left', 'center' or 'right'
var MenuVerticalCentered='top'; // Menu vertical position 'top', 'middle','bottom' or static
var ChildOverlap=.2; // horizontal overlap child/ parent
var ChildVerticalOverlap=.2; // vertical overlap child/ parent
var StartTop=2; // Menu offset x coordinate
var StartLeft=2; // Menu offset y coordinate
var VerCorrect=0; // Multiple frames y correction
var HorCorrect=0; // Multiple frames x correction
var LeftPaddng=3; // Left padding
var TopPaddng=2; // Top padding
var FirstLineHorizontal=1; // SET TO 1 FOR HORIZONTAL MENU, 0 FOR VERTICAL
var MenuFramesVertical=1; // Frames in cols or rows 1 or 0
var DissapearDelay=500; // delay before menu folds in
var TakeOverBgColor=1; // Menu frame takes over background color subitem frame
var FirstLineFrame='navig'; // Frame where first level appears
var SecLineFrame='space'; // Frame where sub levels appear
var DocTargetFrame='space'; // Frame where target documents appear
var TargetLoc=''; // span id for relative positioning
var HideTop=0; // Hide first level when loading new document 1 or 0
var MenuWrap=1; // enables/ disables menu wrap 1 or 0
var RightToLeft=0; // enables/ disables right to left unfold 1 or 0
var UnfoldsOnClick=0; // Level 1 unfolds onclick/ onmouseover
var WebMasterCheck=0; // menu tree checking on or off 1 or 0
var ShowArrow=1; // Uses arrow gifs when 1
var KeepHilite=1; // Keep selected path highligthed


Thanks for any help.

cr3ative
11-21-2004, 01:45 PM
*Points* Look at my signature, there's a link about Form controls showing through DHTML layers. You need to have a look at that.

cr3ative

MrHicks
11-22-2004, 07:44 PM
Thanks, I can get the gist of it. But I can't get it working with the menu I'm using from dynamic drive.

It's not setup remotely in the same way.

ddadmin
11-22-2004, 09:35 PM
With HV Menu, I'm not aware of any easy solution to getting the menu to appear on top of form elements. This is a feature that needs to be built in. The most common technique is to actually hide the form element in question using DHTML when the two comes in contact. This is a feature that needs to be explicitly added in, and is rather complicated to write.