PDA

View Full Version : Use of Text With Converyor Belt Script



Markxxx
02-18-2006, 09:01 PM
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/leftrightslide.htm

Was coming up short on this script

Usually what I do with thumbnails is do a onmouseover effect, so when someone puts the mouse over the thumbnail it toggles a description on the page.

That way I can center the description and change it as the guest hovers his mouse over various images.

This is what I usually use to do that
---------->>>
<html>
<head>
<script>

function toggleDesc(text){
var e = document.getElementById('DescriptionText');
e.innerHTML = text;
}

function resetDesc(){
var e = document.getElementById('DescriptionText');
e.innerHTML = '';
}

</script>
</head>
<body>
<a href="#" onMouseOver="toggleDesc('this is the new description')" onMouseOut="resetDesc()"><img src=INSERT2.jpg></a>
<a href="#" onMouseOver="toggleDesc('This is a second description')" onMouseOut="resetDesc()"><img src=INSERT1.jpg></a>
<br /><br />
<span id="DescriptionText"></span>
</body></html>
<---------------End


Now usually I've had no trouble doing this with other scripts. It's fairly simple. But this script above, STOPS the "conveyor belt" when you put the mouseover the image.

I have tried to adapt the script listed into the "converyor belt" slideshow but can't get it right

So I guess my first question is would it be possible to adapt that script into the "Converyor Belt" listed at the beginning

And failing that would it be possible at all to do a mouseover on the "Converyor Belt" that would allow me to toggle descriptions

Thanks for any help

Markxxx
02-19-2006, 04:10 AM
If anyone else is interested I found the answer from another thread

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2563&highlight=conveyor

jscheuer1 posted a way to do this and it ROCKS!!!!

The only thing I have to add is when you write your text or captions you cannot use characters like an Apostraophe(').

It will kill the conveyor belt.

You have to use the html code &#39; instead.

But the site owners should really incorporate jscheuer1's text into the main script

Twey
02-19-2006, 11:06 AM
you cannot use characters like an Apostraophe(').You can if you escape it (I.E. ' becomes \').