PDA

View Full Version : Switch Content Script Question

Nanopy
02-16-2006, 02:08 AM
Does anyone know a way to change this script to have seperate functions for expanding and contracting content? I'm very new to JS so I don't know how to change this on my own.

jscheuer1
02-16-2006, 10:38 AM
To what end? Please explain what you are trying to do more thoroughly.

Warning: Please include a link to the DD script in question in your post.
PLEASE: Include the URL to your problematic webpage that you want help with.

Nanopy
02-26-2006, 01:52 AM
I *hope* this bumps the thread, haven't checked it in a few weeks...

What I'm looking for is a simple (hopefully) modification--or new script--that could create seperate functions to hide and unhide a <div>.

Presently, the script has one function, expandcontent, that either hides or shows the content. This is fine for simple use, however, when trying to make a form that's cross-browser compatable, it's not adequate.

How I have it set up now is a user has a choice of two radio buttons. The first is "email" the second is "address". The default selected choice is "email". If a user clicks on "address", it hides the email form, and shows the address form. The problem is that to support all browsers, I have to use the onClick= function in javascript. This is obviously the worst choice, because if a user clicks, for example, "address" twice, it shows the email form with the address radio box selected.

I have to use radio boxes or a drop down select form for this, because that determines where in my database items are written. It also is used for error checking.

So what I'd like is to be able to have one radio box be onClick="javascript:expand('<div id>'); collapse('<other div id>')", and the other be onClick="javascript:expand('<other div id>'); collapse('<div id>'). This way if a user clicks on the same radio box twice, the correct form is still being shown.