PDA

View Full Version : Lightbox -.-



Merciless
02-13-2006, 10:53 PM
its not using the lightbox effect, i did everything exactly as it asked, but i didn't change any of the directories, mostly because i dont know what to change them to!, PlEASE HELP ASAP :( :confused: :( :confused:

ddadmin
02-14-2006, 12:29 AM
.

Do you have a URL to the problem page on your site?

Merciless
02-14-2006, 01:26 AM
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/lightbox/index.htm

thats the script, and the page that im putting the pictures on is,

http://www.merciless-gods.com/pics.htm

jscheuer1
02-14-2006, 05:51 AM
There's no lightbox script on your demo page. Also, I notice that it has a preloading function onload in the body tag, this could potentially conflict with the lightbox's script's onload event.

To really see the problem(s) you are encountering, we need to see your best attempt at using the lightbox script. It needn't be the live page on your site, it could just be an orphan test page on your site that you could give us the URL to. Please make every effort to have links from the script on such a page to images be valid though.

ddadmin
02-14-2006, 01:32 PM
Eeek and the background music really made me jump. :eek:

Like John said, the Lightbox script doesn't even seem to be on that page, plus you have several other scripts on the page that are recipe for a script conflict. Try installing Lightbox on a clean page to at least make sure you know you got the basic installation procedure down.

jscheuer1
02-14-2006, 06:44 PM
. . . plus you have several other scripts on the page that are recipe for a script conflict . . .

While we are on that subject, just in general, this:


//
// addLoadEvent()
// Adds event to window.onload without overwriting currently assigned onload functions.
// Function found at Simon Willison's weblog - http://simon.incutio.com/
//
function addLoadEvent(func)
{
var oldonload = window.onload;
if (typeof window.onload != 'function'){
window.onload = func;
} else {
window.onload = function(){
oldonload();
func();
}
}

}



addLoadEvent(initLightbox); // run initLightbox onLoad

in lightbox.js really should be replaced by:


if ( typeof window.addEventListener != "undefined" )
window.addEventListener( "load", initLightbox, false );
else if ( typeof window.attachEvent != "undefined" )
window.attachEvent( "onload", initLightbox );
else {
if ( window.onload != null ) {
var oldOnload = window.onload;
window.onload = function ( e ) {
oldOnload( e );
initLightbox();
};
}
else
window.onload = initLightbox;
}

That way it will not as likely be overwritten by any conventional onload events.

Merciless
02-15-2006, 01:23 AM
okay i put an example of the little thumbnails that open a whole nother web page basically, and they dont use the lightbox loading bar greyish look or anything, here is the link, http://www.merciless-gods.com/pics.htm , thats what i have so far :( plz help, ps. i changed that text in the lightbox.js file now,

Merciless
02-15-2006, 02:11 AM
AND I HAVE TWO MORE IMPORTANT QUESTIONS TO ASK:

1. people have been telling me the text on my web page looks diffrent than theirs, which means that they dont have that text on their internet browser, if you view my page and you see that, could you tell me a good universal text i could use that looks like courrier new or something,

2. do you really really smart guys know how to put "forms" onto your web page, like the little things where it has a question "what is your name? [ ]" and a little text box that they put text into and when they fill in all the text it will email it to me, that would help me a lot for my clan join page, thanks , you guys rock, as usual...

Merciless
02-15-2006, 09:01 PM
when i view the page in "preview" mode in dreamweaver the overlay and X button work everything works perfect except for the loading bar, but on the internet nothing works at all, :( i dont understand why...

jscheuer1
02-15-2006, 09:19 PM
This display of the loading image is only for folks that do not have the images in their cache yet. It gives them something to look at while the image loads. At least in FF, the loading image does display as long as the larger image isn't already in the browser's cache. Since, all the larger images are still on your test page, the only way to achieve this is to empty the cache after the page loads. Once I did that the loading image displayed as expected. I just checked in IE6 and the same thing is true there. Take the large images off of the page and, as long as you don't preload them in any other way and they're no longer in your browser's cache, the loading image will display as expected.

But, only the first time, after that the image will once again be in the cache.

Merciless
02-15-2006, 10:57 PM
okay, do you know how to make forms on a web page? (see previouse question)

jscheuer1
02-16-2006, 09:55 AM
I'm not real strong on forms yet, see this thread (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7693).