PDA

View Full Version : pre-historic 6 year old drop down menu issue



snouty
05-02-2014, 05:51 PM
1) Script Title: AnyLink Drop Down Menu

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/dropmenuindex.htm

3) Describe problem: Back in 2008 my web guy used an AnyLink Drop Down Menu in my website.

There are two issues I would love to resolve.
The main problem I am having is that the drop downs turns off once anything from the menu is clicked once. It seems to happen in every web browser.For example: When you first get to my site, there 9 choices under “About”. If you click to go to any page on my site - all those drop downs disappear.

They DO come back if you click the Home page. I am desperate to fix this. You can see the site here www.WalkYourDogWithLove.com

The next issue – much less important - - is that in some browsers like IE, the drop downs get hidden by the content below them. They don’t drop down over that content, they drop down under it.

Warning! I have zero understanding of coding. I know how put a file into my html editor and play a little, I can add content, switch things around, make something Bold, etc etc - yet I have no idea skills after that - like with what a script is . . . so the simpler the instructions . . . the better!

jscheuer1
05-03-2014, 04:26 AM
.

Your page is in violation of Dynamic Drive's usage terms (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/notice.htm), which, among other things, state that the script credit must appear in the source code of the page(s) using the script. Please reinstate the notice first.

That said, the second issue is easier to address than the first one. Add wmode transparent as both a param for the object tag and as an attribute for the embed:


<object width="560" height="315"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/3EpT1iK_XQA?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US&amp;rel=0"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/3EpT1iK_XQA?=1&amp;hl=en_US&amp;rel=0" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="315" wmode="transparent"></embed></object>

The first question is a little harder because I'm not sure what you want to have happen, or what is happening that you don't like. It sounds like you might want some sort of persistence from page to page. If so, you need a menu that does that. Here are a few:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ddaccordionmenu.htm

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/slashdot.htm

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/navigate1.htm

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/treeview/index.htm

The other more likely possibility is that you mean that the menu doesn't work at all on the other pages. That's because the external menu script isn't on those other pages. For example, on the home page you have:


<script src="includes/menu.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
<link href="includes/style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />

While on howworks.php it's:


<script src="includes/menua.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
<link href="includes/style.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />

and there is no menua.js file. It should (as long as the on page code for the menu links is correct) work if you change that to menu.js

If it's something else, please be more specific.

snouty
05-03-2014, 03:58 PM
John,
Thanks.

First -The copyright is in there - it is on the js file called 'menu'. It is for sure there, as that is where I found dynamic drives' info after all these years. Is it supposed to be someplace else too? More than happy to oblige. here it is from the file
/***********************************************
* AnyLink Drop Down Menu- © Dynamic Drive (www.dynamicdrive.com)
* This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
* Visit http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for full source code
***********************************************/

Second, you nailed it with the code reading "menua.js" I have no idea how that happened . . . yet changing it back to menu.js fixed the problem. and because it was only on one page that is server with all the other pages, it is site wide. Many Many thanks. If you or a friend have a dog, please email me directly and I will send you a dog harness!

Third, I tried the code for putting the drop down box on top of the video content. . . and then things got weird. I have never had an issue with this in Chrome, but I know it is an issue in Explorer. don't know about other browsers. So I can't tell if it it 'fixed it' in Chrome, yet in IE, it made the video disappear (at least in my computer screen. You can click the empty spot where and the video will start to play, you just can't see it! http://walkyourdogwithlove.com/indexdrop.php

Though you can now see the whole menu . . .
And then i checked the code and changed this piece
width="560" height="315"wmode="transparent">
to this
width="560" height="315"><wmode="transparent">

and it made the video appear . . . yet the drop down is still behind it you can see this here http://walkyourdogwithlove.com/indexdrop2.php

question - Wouldn't this be more of dynamic drive coding issue than a video issue. Something that makes the menu appear Over all things? I am obviously not the expert - I just know dogs . . .

jscheuer1
05-03-2014, 05:01 PM
The Usage Terms (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/notice.htm) require that the credit appear in the source code of the page and in the script. More specifically, since the original script had the credit in both places and in both places stated that the credit must remain, so it should to satisfy the usage terms. In fact, I happen to know that if you feel a need to choose. The credit in the page's source code is more important to Dynamic Drive, but you should include it in both places.

As for the video, the code in my previous post will work in any modern browser. For an older browser like IE 8, you may have to update the Flash version. But your IE 8 users might not know about that. A solution is to get rid of the object/embed tag and replace it with the iframe version:


<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/3EpT1iK_XQA?wmode=transparent" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

What that will do is the allow newer browsers to use the the more efficient HTML 5 video methods, and with older browsers like IE 8, if the current Flash version needs to be updated, it will inform the user and provide a link to the update page.

OH, and I would love a harness, is there a way I can contact you through the web site? I don't want to publish my email address here.