PDA

View Full Version : Can't get menu to drop down

Buzzle
04-07-2014, 11:32 AM
1) Script Title: Nested side bar menu

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/csslibrary/item/nested_side_bar_menu/

3) Describe problem: I'm a newbie to scripts so please be patient with me...

I am trying to create a vertical, drop down menu to replace my old Spry menus that no longer work properly on tablet devices.

I have copied the CSS into a new CSS stylesheet and attached this to my page. I also copied the code from <script type="text/javascript"> to </script> and pasted it into the <head> of my page. I then copied the HTML into my file and, in Dreamweaver, it looks about right. However, when I preview it, I can't get it to drop down (it doesn't drop down in the Demo on the DD site either, by the way).

In the code view of Dreamweaver CS5, there is a syntax error reported on the following line: var ultags=document.getElementById(menuids<i>).getElementsByTagName("ul")

Unfortunately, I haven't a clue to where to start to resolve this so would appreciate some help in correcting this, please.

Should I have downloaded a .js file to my site? If so, where would I have found this?

I'm not ready to upload my site to the web yet - is this why I can't see the dropdown menus properly? If this is the problem, how can I preview this menu?

If anyone is able to help this beginner, I'd be so grateful. Thank you.

ddadmin
04-07-2014, 05:51 PM
There was a problem with the code on the demo page (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/csslibrary/item/nested_side_bar_menu/) which I've now fixed (a CMS issue). Try recopying and pasting the code onto your page to see if that fixes the problem.

Buzzle
04-08-2014, 02:41 PM
Thanks for fixing this. I've recopied over the code and it's taking shape. However, I noticed there are two copies of each style on the stylesheet. Do I need both copies?