PDA

View Full Version : Pausing RSS scroller



susiespoon
03-26-2014, 01:26 PM
Pausing RSS scroller

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/rsspausescroller/index.htm

I can not make this work, I don't know if I am doing something really silly but it just won't work
and I am sure I have done everything right, help please!

This is waht I am gettting http://boutiquecapital.com/index3.htm (feed on right hand side of page)

Does it make a difference what PHP the server is running, I know they just upgraded to the latest?

If anyone can help, many thanks x

jscheuer1
03-26-2014, 05:37 PM
Yes the version can make a difference. Settings (permissions and/or allowed shortcuts) can also come into play. I don't have the latest version of PHP (I don't have any PHP really, just a sandbox for it), I use 5.3.0 there. That's more advanced and set more strictly than what this script was written for and I have had to make some changes to the script in order to get the script to work with it. In fact, I got rid of lastRSS.php in favor of simplepie.inc to use as the main feed interpreter. Try it out (right click and 'Save As'):

5402

susiespoon
04-01-2014, 09:32 AM
Thanks so much John, but I still can not get it to work, am I overlooking something really silly, missing out one line or something, can you see if it is just something simple I have or haven't done? http://boutiquecapital.com/index3.htm
Many thanks Sue

Beverleyh
04-01-2014, 10:01 AM
Hi Sue,

Looking at your code, you have this as the JavaScript initialisation;
new rsspausescroller("News", "pscroller1", "rssclass", 3000, "_new")
new rsspausescroller("http://mf.feeds.reuters.com/reuters/UKBankingFinancial", "pscroller2", "rssclass", 3000, "http://mf.feeds.reuters.com/reuters/UKBankingFinancial", "date+description")
Unfortunately, if you read the instructions in the demo, you need to define your own feed in the "scrollerbridge.php" file (both in the DD demo and John's SimplePie demo).

You should have a line in the "scrollerbridge.php" file that looks something like this;
"UKBankingFinancial" => "http://mf.feeds.reuters.com/reuters/UKBankingFinancial",

And then the JavaScript in the web page would look something like this;
new rsspausescroller("UKBankingFinancial", "pscroller2", "rssclass", 3000, "_new", "date+description")Note the 1st parameter should be the name of the feed as defined in the "scrollerbridge.php" file (not the actual link) and the other highlighted parameter (the 5th) is how the feel link is opened; in a new page ("_new"), or in the same page ("")

Hope that helps

susiespoon
04-01-2014, 10:51 AM
Thank you Beverley, I can see where I went wrong, I have corrected these and it still will not work :(

susiespoon
04-01-2014, 11:17 AM
Beverley thank you, it is now working, there is one other thing, I don't know if this is possible, can we remove images etc from the feed even though the feed is coming from someone elses page? Many thanks Sue

susiespoon
04-01-2014, 11:28 AM
Don't worry I have worked that out also, I just used a little snippet of CSS code, thank you for all your help, Sue x

Beverleyh
04-01-2014, 11:49 AM
If you're using John's SimplePie version, there's a line in the "scrollerbridge.php" file that looks like this;
$allowtags = '<p><a><img>'; //tags to allow in itemsIf you remove "<img>", no images will display from the feed.