PDA

View Full Version : Writting an ADO Recordset Into Array ~ How do I do it?



jason_kelly
03-16-2014, 07:41 PM
Hello,

I really need your help.

How can I use the following recordset model below to build an array containing a row of cell data?



while (!rs.eof) {

for (var c = 0; c < rs.fields.count; ++c) {

alert(i +" " +rs.fields(c).value)

}
rs.MoveNext
}


The objective of the code would be to achieve something exactly similar to the given example below:


var data = [ [1,'Exxon Mobil','339,938.0','36,130.0'],
[2,'Wal-Mart Stores','315,654.0','11,231.0'],
[3,'Royal Dutch Shell','306,731.0','25,311.0'],
[4,'BP','267,600.0','22,341.0'],
[5,'General Motors','192,604.0','-10,567.0'],
[6,'Chevron','189,481.0','14,099.0'],
[7,'DaimlerChrysler','186,106.3','3,536.3'],
[8,'Toyota Motor','185,805.0','12,119.6'],
[9,'Ford Motor','177,210.0','2,024.0'],
[10,'ConocoPhillips','166,683.0','13,529.0'],
[11,'General Electric','157,153.0','16,353.0'],
[12,'Total','152,360.7','15,250.0'],
[13,'ING Group','138,235.3','8,958.9'],
[14,'Citigroup','131,045.0','24,589.0'],
[15,'AXA','129,839.2','5,186.5'],
[16,'Allianz','121,406.0','5,442.4'],
[17,'Volkswagen','118,376.6','1,391.7'],
[18,'Fortis','112,351.4','4,896.3'],
[19,'Crédit Agricole','110,764.6','7,434.3'],
[20,'American Intl. Group','108,905.0','10,477.0']];


I've tried the following, but it isn't working like intended:

if (!rs.BOF || !rs.EOF) {

var i = 0
alert(rs.fields.count) // max row number
data = [
while (!rs.eof) {
++i

for (var c = 0; c < rs.fields.count; ++c) {

alert(i +" " +rs.fields(c).value)
data += [i,rs.fields(c).value,rs.fields(c).value,rs.fields(c).value]
}
rs.MoveNext

}
data += ]
alert(data)
}//end of if

zealouss
03-18-2014, 06:51 AM
//The best way is to use array's push method

var data = [];

if (!rs.BOF || !rs.EOF) {

var i = 0
alert(rs.fields.count) // max row number

while (!rs.eof) {
++i

for (var c = 0; c < rs.fields.count; ++c) {

alert(i +" " +rs.fields(c).value);
data.push([i,rs.fields(c).value,rs.fields(c).value,rs.fields(c).value]);
}
rs.MoveNext

}

alert(data)
}//end of if


//Hope this will help

jason_kelly
03-20-2014, 02:28 AM
Another flawless post brought to you by zealous!

That was exactly what I was looking for.

Thanks so much for all your help.

Cheers,

Jay