PDA

View Full Version : help please!! simple calculation

HippieChickie
02-07-2014, 08:12 PM
hello

Im new to java but know enough html to make webpages. I would appreciate any help anyone can give me & I thank you in advance.

I have 3 user input text boxes that when a user types in a number it subtracts that number by 71 & posts the result in another hidden text box below it. works great no problems there.

however, when I try to add the total in the 3 text boxes to keep a running total, I cant seem to get it to work no matter what I try. Im sure its in my syntax somewhere or im missing something. Pasted below is the most recent code I been trying but I have tried other ways but Its not working. I know I must be close cause I no longer get the errors when I put a number in the box but just cant get it! I have tried the onchange because I seen other use it for a running total but usually on a form with options. mine is user imputed.

<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
function calc(A,SUM) {
var one = document.getElementById(A).value;
document.getElementById(SUM).value = 71 - one;

}
//-->
</script>

<!--
function calc(B,SUM1) {
var two = document.getElementById(B).value;
document.getElementById(SUM1).value = 71 - two;

}
//-->
</script>

<!--
function calc(C,SUM2) {
var three = document.getElementById(C).value;
document.getElementById(SUM2).value = 71 - three;

}
//-->
</script>

<table>
<tr>
<td width="108" align="center" height="21"></td>
<td width="109" align="center">
<input name="sum" id="op1" onkeyup="calc('op1','result')" size="2" maxlength="2" />
</td>
<input name="sum1" id="op2" onkeyup="calc('op2','result1')" size="5" />
</td>
<input name="sum2" id="op3" onkeyup="calc('op3','result2')" size="5" />
</td>
<td width="109" align="center" height="21"></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<input name="sum" id="result" size="2" readonly style="font-size: 12pt; font-family: MV Boli; font-weight: bold; border-style: none; border-width: 0px">

</td>