PDA

View Full Version : Resolved Need to remove feed link in jscheuer1's modified cross browser marque II



printman55
01-16-2014, 11:33 PM
1) Script Title: Cross Browser marquee II

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex2/cmarquee2.htm

3) Describe problem: John modified the script on the linked page to accommodate the news feed link. Now it appears the source of the news feed is no longer a live site. Consequently, the page takes forever to load. I tried removing various lines of code with no luck. Would you please take a look.
http://www./index-marquee-2014.htm
Many thanks.

jscheuer1
01-17-2014, 01:52 AM
It looks like the feed is still there, just takes a long time to load. Ways to avoid that is to get the feed on a faster server, or get a different feed, or use hard coded content for the marquee, or get rid of the marquee altogether. There could be others.

Simple answer - add the red comment tokens as shown:


</table>
<div style="display:none;"><div id="tempfeed"><!-- <script type="text/javascript"src="http://www.freshcontent.net/financial_news_feed.php"></script> --></div></div>

</body>
</html>

printman55
01-17-2014, 12:10 PM
I took the simple answer. Thanks. This will work great until I can find another news source. I also deleted the link to Freshcontent.net, but found that I needed to keep the <code> <div class="feeddest"></div> </code>for the scroll to work. Not sure why that is. Not seeing reference to that div. Also noticed the scrolling text sometimes goes outside the red border at the bottom?

printman55
01-17-2014, 12:22 PM
The scrolling text going outside the bottom border occurs in Firefox, but not in IE or Chrome.

jscheuer1
01-17-2014, 03:45 PM
About getting a new feed. If your server has PHP 5.3 or better, and permission to read/write files and to fetch other domain files, and the feed is a true xml feed, I have a fairly simple feed fetching code you can use. I don't see any problem in Firefox.

printman55
01-17-2014, 06:19 PM
What is the code
<div class="feeddest"></div> in the var marqueecontent section doing?

jscheuer1
01-17-2014, 07:59 PM
It's the target for these two lines:


cross_marquee.getElementsByTagName('div')[0].innerHTML = document.getElementById('tempfeed').innerHTML;
cross_marquee2.getElementsByTagName('div')[0].innerHTML = document.getElementById('tempfeed').innerHTML;

printman55
01-17-2014, 08:30 PM
John, Thanks for all your help. Not sure if I am going to add another feed, but I will definitely keep the feed code offer in mind.