PDA

View Full Version : Textbox inside of a JS function?

NitroDev
10-18-2013, 10:42 AM
So yeah i really need it for my game in working on

Here's the function:

<script>
function newWorld()
{
document.write('<pre>');
document.writeln("Hello and welcome to World of My Core!");
document.writeln("What would you like to do?");
// textbox here
}
</script>

PS. i know im just a beginner at coding (coded for a month) so i kinda suck.

jscheuer1
10-18-2013, 12:11 PM
There is no textbox exactly. You need to choose either a text input or a textarea. Well you could devise an editable element to substitute for either of those, but let's not do anything extra just yet. A text input is one line, a textarea is multi line. A text input makes more sense here, so in simplest terms:

<script>
function newWorld()
{
document.write('<pre>');
document.writeln('<input type="text">'); // textbox here
}
</script>

If you want a textarea:

<script>
function newWorld()
{
document.write('<pre>');
document.writeln('<textarea cols="50" rows="5"></textarea>'); // textbox here
}
</script>

If you want either of those to line up with the question, you would use document.write, not writeln for the line that writes the text input/textarea.