PDA

View Full Version : popup title help



rohis
02-05-2006, 05:40 AM
on my website rohismusic.com, the title is fine and reads just like it's supposed to (Rohis).

This website is hosted on freewebs and when I make a link from this page to another normally, the title bar still reads fine.

and when you click the link and select 'open link in new window' the title of the popup site reads rohis there too, just like it's suposed to.

But, my the site opens in a popup and whenever you open the popup, for some reason, the title bar sais 'freewebs' than the normal title.

Freewebs said that it's not advertising on their end, and that it's probably the way my pop script is set up.

I've tried everything to fix it. I've tried changing the title, I've even tried using scripts that alter the title bar in the pop (like the ones that display the time) but nothing has worked.

please help me get rid of that annoying title.

perhaps there's another way to open a popup?

jscheuer1
02-05-2006, 06:32 AM
If you have a pop up window with no address bar, almost all modern browsers will give at least the domain name as a preface to the title, as a security measure, so that the user knows what domain they are on. The only exception that I know of is Opera, which still alerts the user of the domain, but as a subtitle, rather than as a preface.

rohis
02-05-2006, 04:08 PM
So is there a way to fix or change it?

Twey
02-05-2006, 04:40 PM
Yes: get a real hosting account that you can apply a domain to.

rohis
02-05-2006, 07:32 PM
I have a paid account at free webs and domain forwarding.

Twey
02-05-2006, 07:52 PM
This "domain forwarding" actually just puts the site in a frameset. It's not real DNS forwarding.

jscheuer1
02-05-2006, 08:33 PM
Another fix would be to have your page in a real window, like most normal sites do. Messing with the user's chrome is annoying to many surfers. Or, if it is just the odd pop up to view a larger size image or some details about an item on your 'real' page, you can use a DHTML pop up. These have the advantage of not being subject to pop up blocking and can be made to look just about however you would like. The only exception is that you cannot use the user's browser's chrome or a subset of it.

DHTML Window (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex8/dhtmlwindow.htm)

Drop-in content box (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/dropinbox.htm)

Lightbox image viewer (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/lightbox/index.htm)

Image Thumbnail Viewer (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/thumbnail.htm)

. . . just to name a few.

rohis
02-07-2006, 06:35 PM
for the DHTML window, is it possible to change the bordercolor?


I can change all the border colors of the DIVs, but don't know the code to change the Iframes border color.

and does it work with firefox and opera?

Twey
02-07-2006, 07:42 PM
Add border-color:color to the style attribute of the outer-most div.